The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Need help optimizing my store, not sure what the job title actually is!
toknowhtml
post Jan 30 2011, 06:38 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-January 11
Member No.: 13,742



I have a store website that is all set up and fully functional.

I recently did a check on the internal html (or css I believe it is style sheets) I understand very little of this stuff and realized it may not be set up perfectly for optimal crawling, etc, in the structure. It is a store run through highwire.com, and I did an analyzer and there were tons of errors on W3 website.

When we made it I was way more into the design than making sure the structure was sound and now I am wondering if it might be a barrier to google picking us up (yahoo and bing seem to have us on the first page for some searches)...

Do you think anyone might be interested in doing the work to fix it up? I have a file that has the errors that W3 found saved.

I really don't even know how much I don't know about the structure of a website, or if ours is really in trouble or not.

Please PM me if your interested and I can give you the site, and you can check it out and let me know how much. I don't think it should be too involved since it's optimizing a fully functional site.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
newwebseo
post Jun 16 2011, 01:16 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 9-October 09
Member No.: 9,984



There are many companies who are interested in helping for this project you just need to contact them.


--------------------
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 16 2011, 06:35 AM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,549
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



So are you familiar with highwire.com, newwebseo? For example, can you access their templates and edit them? If you can't, this would be an impossible task.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jun 16 2011, 02:29 PM
Post #4


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 6,137
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(toknowhtml @ Jan 31 2011, 01:38 AM) *

When we made it I was way more into the design than making sure the structure was sound and now I am wondering if it might be a barrier to google picking us up (yahoo and bing seem to have us on the first page for some searches)...

HTML syntax errors (as shown by the W3C validator) won't necessarily prevent search engine spiders from indexing a site, in fact almost all sites on the web use more or less invalid HTML. If your pages can be found in Google at all I wouldn't worry too much about validation (not for that reason, anyway).

BTW a sound HTML structure can also mean chosing semantically or structurally appropriate HTML elements, see http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/publish.html#index-better


--------------------
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
newwebseo
post Jun 17 2011, 01:49 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 9-October 09
Member No.: 9,984



"highwire.com" is not providing access to their template but if they can provide the access then it can be done.
One more thing if highwire.com is having such a problem then they should correct it.


--------------------
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 17 2011, 07:03 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,549
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Really? Then maybe there aren't that many companies interested after all.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
newwebseo
post Jun 18 2011, 01:04 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 9-October 09
Member No.: 9,984



Agreed


--------------------
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 04:42 PM