The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems in IE
dublah
post Feb 18 2010, 12:11 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-February 10
Member No.: 11,122



Hi, I just finished my first website, and it seems to look fine in every program but Internet Explorer.
In IE, on Macs running Windows , there are a bunch of gray boxes and the image loads with scroll bars, and on PCs running windows, there is no gray, but the images still load with scroll bars.
You can check out the site here:
My website
I've also attached a picture a friend of mine captured for me since I can only access OSX at the moment.
IPB Image

Edit: I just added a scrolling="no" to the iframe script but I can't check IE to see if it worked.

This post has been edited by dublah: Feb 18 2010, 01:06 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 18 2010, 07:50 AM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,558
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Start with fixing the errors.
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...s&input=yes
http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validat...g=1&lang=en

Use a doctype. Not only to be able to validate properly, but also because without one (or with the wrong one) all browsers will be in Quirks Mode, displaying the bugs of older versions.
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/

Chances are those two things will fix the problems. If not, please post again. smile.gif


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Josh J
post Mar 1 2010, 08:24 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-January 10
Member No.: 10,785



excl.gif I am Running Windows XP and using Internet Explorer 8 and I have no problems. There is no Scrollbar appearing. That being Said, I have noticed that you do not have a valid doctype tag. Here is The <HEAD> Section of your page.
CODE
<head>
<title>Lisa DuBois | Illustration Portfolio</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
<style type="text/css">
<!--
#apDiv1 {
    position:absolute;
    left:119px;
    top:204px;
    width:182px;
    height:120px;
    z-index:1;
    visibility: hidden;
}
#apDiv2 {
    position:absolute;
    left:32px;
    top:492px;
    width:267px;
    height:180px;
    z-index:0;
}
body {
    background-image: url(website2.png);
    background-repeat: no-repeat;
}
#apDiv3 {
    position:absolute;
    left:32px;
    top:185px;
    width:266px;
    height:85px;
    z-index:1;
}
#apDiv {
    position:absolute;
    left:32px;
    top:294px;
    width:266px;
    height:166px;
    z-index:1;
}
#Table_01 tr td #apDiv {
    font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}
#apDiv4 {    position:absolute;
    left:32px;
    top:294px;
    width:266px;
    height:166px;
    z-index:1;
}
#Table_01 tr td #apDiv2 {
    font-family: Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}
body,td,th {
    font-family: Helvetica;
    font-size: 14px;
    color: 424242;
}
a:link {
    color: 424242;
    text-decoration: none;
}
a:visited {
    text-decoration: none;
    color: 424242;
}
a:hover {
    text-decoration: none;
}
a:active {
    text-decoration: none;
}
-->
</style>
</head>
I would like to include that Most Macs do NOT run IE. They Run Either
  1. Mozilla FireFox
  2. Apple Safari
If the Problem Persists, Feel free to contact me at:josh@jwjwebdesign.com
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 06:16 AM