The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> All Pages on my Site do not load complete with IE
thepainter
post Jan 2 2010, 05:47 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-January 10
Member No.: 10,751



All Pages on my Site do not load complete with IE.

They do with Safari.

I load page 1 and it is okay but when I get to page 4 it is incomplete.
Go back to page 1 from there and it is incomplete, but then page 4 will load okay.

http://www.davesdomain.ca/keywest/

The loading is erratic and unstable.

I have disabled the anti Virus program I have running. Installed updated Adobe Shockwave.

Can anyone help with any suggestions?



User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 2 2010, 06:01 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,575
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Man that site is slow! You have a number of HUGE images resized with HTML. Resize them in an image editor to the exact size you are going to use. Optimize them (i.e. use as much JPG compression as you can without losing too much quality).

The pages will still be slow because the images will still be pretty large and you have a lot of them on each page. You may consider using thumbnails or at least smaller images and link to the large versions.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thepainter
post Jan 2 2010, 08:48 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-January 10
Member No.: 10,751



thanks

This post has been edited by thepainter: Jan 2 2010, 08:57 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jan 2 2010, 09:03 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I see the same thing with Firefox, Safari, and Chrome.

It wouldn't hurt to fix the markup errors reported by our online validator:
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...mp;warnings=yes

You're still taking a 25921944px image and resizing it to a mere 600x400px with HTML. That's a huge waste of bandwidth. You should be able to create a 600x400px image that is much smaller than 233kB.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thepainter
post Jan 2 2010, 09:14 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-January 10
Member No.: 10,751



Thank you for your reply.

I should have adjusted the size of my pictures on the camera before taking them.
I have tried to resize them down from the 400 and 500KB with Paint Shop Pro but any smaller and they are distorted.

I can't recall how I got such good pics and low KB as I did here:
http://www.davesdomain.ca/dominican2005/
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 2 2010, 09:21 PM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,575
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Could you be using the wrong resizing algorithm? I think IrfanView does a good job with downsizing. Better than PSP. It's small and free, you could give it a try.
http://irfanview.com/


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thepainter
post Jan 3 2010, 01:53 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-January 10
Member No.: 10,751



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 2 2010, 09:21 PM) *

Could you be using the wrong resizing algorithm? I think IrfanView does a good job with downsizing. Better than PSP. It's small and free, you could give it a try.
http://irfanview.com/




Thank you! Thank you! This is a very nice program.
Looks like the site is loading okay now.

http://www.davesdomain.ca/keywest/
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 3 2010, 06:21 PM
Post #8


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,575
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Welcome, welcome! biggrin.gif

Yup, loads just fine. May be slow for those on slow connection, but not as before. Took aprox. 25 second to load the whole page and I'm on a 100/10 line.

BTW, in PSP, there are several options under Resize. If you choose Pixel for instance, a photo will be messed up.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 08:06 PM