The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Annoying skype problem, Skype changes phone number styles!
Gunto
post Dec 12 2009, 12:59 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-November 09
Member No.: 10,456



Hello there.
In internet explorer, in a computer that has Skype installed on it, Skype makes all telephone numbers in webpages into Skype buttons with a Skype menu!
Here is an example.
http://thebrowserhighlighter.com/images/tool_skype.gif
There are two problems with this:
1) As a result, Skype takes control of the style, it changes the font, the size, and adds a Skype button near it! mad.gif
2) The second problem is that Skype also "thinks" IDs and or catalog numbers are PHONE numbers, and does the same thing to them!

Is there a way to disable Skype from doing this (not in MY computer, in the HTML itself)?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 12 2009, 01:40 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,105
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I read somewhere that converting the numbers to numeric references, like 12345 , should take care of it, but I haven't tested that. I suspect there is some nifty JavaScript floating around, it usually is, but I haven't found one.

I guess in a way we shouldn't do this and leave it up to the user, but I agree that those buttons are a little over the top.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Dec 12 2009, 05:27 PM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,008
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Apparently it's Skype's IE toolbar (bundled with the actual Skype software) that causes this. There are also extensions for Firefox and Chrome. rolleyes.gif

According to http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic=78380 you can prevent it with the following META tag:

CODE
<meta name="SKYPE_TOOLBAR" content="SKYPE_TOOLBAR_PARSER_COMPATIBLE" />


or simply insert a hidden underscore to confuse Skype:

CODE
+123 456 <span style="display:none;">_</span> 789
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 12 2009, 06:14 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,105
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



That easy... that's nice of them. Good use of Meta.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Dec 13 2009, 05:55 AM
Post #5


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,008
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



According to http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic...st&p=504562 the exact META tag string seems critical:

QUOTE
it would not work with XHTML tags:
<META name="SKYPE_TOOLBAR" content="SKYPE_TOOLBAR_PARSER_COMPATIBLE"/>
it would not work with different attribute order
<META CONTENT="SKYPE_TOOLBAR_PARSER_COMPATIBLE" name="SKYPE_TOOLBAR">

Both above connstructions are correct according to the (X)HTML specification so why it does not work?
Because of condition check
var reg_exp = new RegExp('<META name="SKYPE_TOOLBAR" CONTENT="SKYPE_TOOLBAR_PARSER_COMPATIBLE">','i');.

Note how the regex string (from the Skype toolbar code?) searches for HTML syntax, while the code example officially suggested by http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic...st&p=369832 uses XHTML. unsure.gif

https://developer.skype.com/jira/browse/SCW-65 (07/Mar/07 07:15 AM) also mentions a META tag bug on complex pages in Firefox.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Dec 13 2009, 09:27 AM
Post #6


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,298
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



QUOTE(pandy @ Dec 13 2009, 08:14 AM) *

That easy... that's nice of them. Good use of Meta.


I think it's an appalling use of "meta". Or rather the whole approach is wrong. Once hundreds of people have written widely promulgated pieces of junk to mess up web pages, should my pages all start with 100+ meta tags to remove the junk? No, if people install junk, they should get junk. I agree it is actually a good idea (here and there) to provide help to the clueless so they do at least understand the source of the junk.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th January 2019 - 03:16 PM