The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Same Content Across Multiple Pages
kchendricks
post Sep 26 2006, 07:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-September 06
Member No.: 232



Hello,
I hope someone can help me out.
I have the same content is currently coded in several different pages. The content changes frequently, so I end up having to change 2000+ lines of HTML several times with the same content. Granted it's as simple as cut and paste, but here's what I'd like to do, and don't know how.

Is is possible to have the changing html content reside on a separate file (say a text file) that all seven other pages can reference - without using frames? Is there a Javacsript I could use? How could I do this?

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks!

This post has been edited by kchendricks: Sep 26 2006, 07:50 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 26 2006, 08:18 AM
Post #2


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



See the FAQ pages here for more information on how to include files
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/design.html#include-file
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
shannonlp
post Oct 5 2006, 05:57 PM
Post #3


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 30-September 06
Member No.: 296



QUOTE(kchendricks @ Sep 26 2006, 05:49 AM) *

Hello,
I hope someone can help me out.
I have the same content is currently coded in several different pages. The content changes frequently, so I end up having to change 2000+ lines of HTML several times with the same content. Granted it's as simple as cut and paste, but here's what I'd like to do, and don't know how.

Is is possible to have the changing html content reside on a separate file (say a text file) that all seven other pages can reference - without using frames? Is there a Javacsript I could use? How could I do this?

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks!


PHP is another way of making this happen. I use it for several of my pages and seems to work pretty well.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ShadowyBob
post Oct 20 2006, 06:29 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 6-October 06
From: Peterborough, UK
Member No.: 354



See also my posting where, I think, the answers I received are a bit easier to understand than the FAQ page.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd March 2019 - 01:07 PM