The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem displaying jpeg pictures
CaptMarlinspike
post Dec 12 2006, 07:25 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,274



Help
I am an HTML newbie. I have a site that includes .jpg photos. When I look at the site on my PC using IE all the pictures display OK when I upload it to my web space and look at it there some of the pictures show as an empty box with a red cross in it. WHat am I doing wrong?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
JamieHarrop
post Dec 12 2006, 07:27 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 129
Joined: 25-October 06
From: West Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 570



That sounds like the image you are trying to display is not there or the images have been corrupted when uploaded.

Can you tell us the address of the page in question?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 12 2006, 07:30 AM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,366
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I don't know. If you post a link to a sample page with borken images we can maybe find out. smile.gif

Maybe you haven't uploaded the images or you have put them in the wrong place. Maybe it's a problem with case. Most servers are Unix based anc case sensitive, unlike Windows. pic.jpg, PIC.JPG, pic.JPG and so on are different files on such a system.
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/images.html#broken-image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CaptMarlinspike
post Dec 12 2006, 08:27 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,274



QUOTE(JamieHarrop @ Dec 12 2006, 07:27 AM) *

That sounds like the image you are trying to display is not there or the images have been corrupted when uploaded.

Can you tell us the address of the page in question?


The web site can be found at: www.ashburnproperty.co.uk go to the properties page and scroll down

I am pretty sure the image files uploaded OK as I went into the web space and open the image direstly and it looked alright.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
JamieHarrop
post Dec 12 2006, 08:37 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
****

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 129
Joined: 25-October 06
From: West Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 570



You are trying to call images which are not there.

Many of the images are pointing to http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/***.jpg which doesn't exist.

I see one pointing to http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/6Queensoutside.jpg which doesn't exist (However, http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/6Queensoutside.JPG does exist. Notice the uppercase "JPG".)

There is also http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/Flat21outside.jpg which doesn't exist (But http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/Flat21outside.JPG) does.

Make sure all your image SRC's are pointing to the correct place, then check the case of the letters like Pandy suggested.

This post has been edited by JamieHarrop: Dec 12 2006, 08:38 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CaptMarlinspike
post Dec 12 2006, 08:43 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,274



QUOTE(JamieHarrop @ Dec 12 2006, 08:37 AM) *

You are trying to call images which are not there.

Many of the images are pointing to http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/***.jpg which doesn't exist.

I see one pointing to http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/6Queensoutside.jpg which doesn't exist (However, http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/6Queensoutside.JPG does exist. Notice the uppercase "JPG".)

There is also http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/Flat21outside.jpg which doesn't exist (But http://www.ashburnproperty.co.uk/Flat21outside.JPG) does.

Make sure all your image SRC's are pointing to the correct place, then check the case of the letters like Pandy suggested.


BRILLIANT
I did not realise that the file extensions were case sensitive.
Thanks alot for your help.
Regards
Alan
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 12 2006, 09:43 AM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,366
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



If it is case sensitive everything is. Names of files, directories, the lot.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2019 - 11:19 PM