The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why do I get a a blue line underneath one image in Chrome but no other browser?
mikefnz
post Jan 22 2011, 02:51 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-January 11
Member No.: 13,675



Hi All

I am trying to put a basic website together with limited knowledge.

I have three button images that appear equivalent with border set to 0, but the third button has a blue line under it in Chrome but not in Firefox or Internet Explorer.

I can't see why two buttons are fine but the third has the blue underline.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Code:

<td bgcolor="#ffffff"><div align="center"> <a href="/index.html" target="_top" onclick="MM_nbGroup('down','group1','Bluebuttontoucheduphomecopy','',1)" onmouseover="MM_nbGroup('over','Bluebuttontoucheduphomecopy','','',1)" onmouseout="MM_nbGroup('out')"><img src="images/Blue%20button%20touched%20up%20home%20copy.png" alt="Home" name="Bluebuttontoucheduphomecopy" width="175" height="40" border="0" id="Bluebuttontoucheduphomecopy" style="text-decoration: none;" /></a></div></td>
<td bgcolor="#ffffff"><div class="navText" align="center"> <a href="/services.html"><img src="images/Blue%20button%20touched%20up%20services%20copy.png" alt="Services" border="0" height="40" width="175" style="text-decoration: none;" /></a></div></td>
<td bgcolor="#ffffff"><div align="center"> <a href="/people.html"><span class="navText"><img src="images/Blue%20button%20touched%20up%20people%20copy.png" alt="People" border="0" height="40" width="175" style="text-decoration: none;"/></a></div></td>


Site url: www.heatherclay.co.nz
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 22 2011, 04:23 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



See the error on line 92 here.
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...s&input=yes

You have a start tag for SPAN there, but you never close it. I don't know why it gets you the underline effect, but it does and not only in Chrome either. If you want to use the class navText, apply it do the DIV as you've done for the middle button. Or even better, remove the DIVs and use the classes and attributes with TD instead. There's no need to add DIVs and SPANs to be able to use CSS.


You should also fix the other markup errors the validator reports.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
mikefnz
post Jan 22 2011, 06:54 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-January 11
Member No.: 13,675



Fantastic.

Problem fixed.

Many thanks for taking the time to investigate and respond.

I will follow-up on other errors.

Thanks again.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:13 AM