Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML problem- opening a new window
Shauhncy
post Mar 6 2009, 04:37 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,996

Hi all. I am new to HTML, but I love it and I basically worship Dreamweaver. Right now, I am best at doing everything in design mode, easy I know. I am trying to do this site for a friend and he needs some specific coding to where when someone clicks on the link, a new window opens with no problem. Now, let me say this. He uses a PC and IE as a browser. When I open the page, I don't get the error because I use Safari 4. I also tried Firefox on my husband's PC to open it, and didn't get the error message that I am trying to correct. In essence, my friend wants to correct this problem with some kind of html code for people trying to view his page in Internet Explorer, since the problem doesn't occur in other browsers.

Here is the problem:
It is easier to see than to describe, but I will try, and I will also include links that have the html for both ways.

The problem: This man needs a page with links to where when someone clicks on the hot spot, a new small window opens with a tour in it, and the original page is still in the background. I figured this out, you just use "blank" in the coding for the link.

Now, when this new link is opened, in IE, a message pops up that says something like "The browser is trying to close this window. Do you want to close it? Yes or no"

He doesn't want this message to come up at all. It's an extra step, which people will not know whether to click yes or no on.

Here are examples of the correct code he needs and the incorrect: If you open Internet Explorer, and click on any of the links, you can see what I am talking about.

The first one (Edgecomb) is the one that will show the error in IE. This is the one we are trying to correct.

http://www.photographyoptions.net/images/edge/edgecombe.html