The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> cell won't vertically align, cell won't vertically align
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 09:06 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



Hi, I have some content that won't vertically align.
I want it to align at the top.
It includes a graphic image, text, a form, and some PHP.

I have researched and tried everything I can think of.
Any idea why this content won't center?
(replacing it with some plain text and using valign="top" works.)
Thanks for any help.

Here's the code:

<TD ROWSPAN=3 valign="top" class="noborderBox"> <img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="109" height="10">
<br> <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>HOT
DEALS</strong> from</font><br> <span class="stayGreen"><a href="../page.php"><font size="2"><strong>Text here</strong></font></a></span>
<?php
if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] != 'POST'){
$me = $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];
?>
<form name="form1" method="post"
action="<?php echo $me;?>">
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="2">
<tr>
<td><input type="text" name="email" size=13></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input type="submit" name="Submit"
value="Subscribe"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
<?php
} else {
error_reporting(0);
//
$recipient = 'me@home.com';
$subject = 'subscriber';
$from = stripslashes($_POST['Name']);
$msg = "This person has subscribed";
$mailheaders = "From: $email\n";
$mailheaders .= "Reply-To: $email\n\n";
if (mail($recipient, $subject, $msg, $mailheaders))
echo nl2br("<font color=#339900 size=2 face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif'></font>
<font color=#0033CC size=2 face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif'>Thank-you for saving with RealSteals!<br>");
else
echo ("<font color=#FF0000 size=2 face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif'>Message failed to send, please try again later.</font>");
}
?>
<strong><font color="#000000" size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" >BUSINESS</font></strong><font color="#009933"><br>
<span class="themeText"><a href="../getlisted.php">Get Listed</a><br>
<a href="../interview.php">interviews</a><br>
<a href="../design.php">design</a><br>
<a href="../advertise.php">advertise</a></span></font></TD>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sparkyg
post Sep 29 2006, 09:21 AM
Post #2


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 29-September 06
From: Suffolk UK
Member No.: 270



Hi There

Forms have a margin around them, without seeing the full output of the page I would use a style to remove the form margin

<style>
FORM {
margin:0;
padding:0;
}
</style>


if this doesn't work post the page output or post the link

cheers

Sparky
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 10:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



Hi, Thanks for replying!

If your suggestion works, I am not sure how to apply it.

So here's the link:
http://www.gobeyondmag.com/HomeLife/index.php



QUOTE(Sparkyg @ Sep 29 2006, 10:21 AM) *

Hi There

Forms have a margin around them, without seeing the full output of the page I would use a style to remove the form margin

<style>
FORM {
margin:0;
padding:0;
}
</style>


if this doesn't work post the page output or post the link

cheers

Sparky

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sparkyg
post Sep 29 2006, 11:28 AM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 29-September 06
From: Suffolk UK
Member No.: 270



Whats this for ?

<img src="../images/spacer.gif" width="109" height="10">
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 29 2006, 11:28 AM
Post #5


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,043
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Sorry, mixed it up.

This post has been edited by Christian J: Sep 29 2006, 11:30 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 29 2006, 11:34 AM
Post #6


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



I don't think this code posted any longer has anything to do with the link provided.

everything in the link is aligned fine here . . . the image index_01.jpg is tight to the upper left of my browser.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 11:46 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



The code posted here has everything to do with the link.
It is in the page/code in the link.

When more text is added in the box on the right, and the page stretches down, the form on the left centres vertically in the middle of the page. It does not stay at the top.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 11:54 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



QUOTE(CSpoon @ Sep 29 2006, 12:46 PM) *

The code posted here has everything to do with the link.
It is in the page/code in the link.

When more text is added in the box on the right, and the page stretches down, the form on the left centres vertically in the middle of the page. It does not stay at the top.


Like this screenshot...(line returns added on the right to stretch page downward).


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 29 2006, 12:00 PM
Post #9


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



Okay I just posted something at the same time as you did looking for more clarification - now it is clearer what you mean I'll look again

This post has been edited by jimlongo: Sep 29 2006, 12:04 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sparkyg
post Sep 29 2006, 12:02 PM
Post #10


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 29-September 06
From: Suffolk UK
Member No.: 270



Ah I see your problem, your colspans and rowspans are an issue, when the right row grows it will push down the left hand row.

You need to sort this out. Dreamweaver can complicate things, thats why I hand code.

cheers

Sparky
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 12:04 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



QUOTE(jimlongo @ Sep 29 2006, 01:00 PM) *

Okay I just posted something at the same time as you did - thanks for the screenshot I'll look again.


hehe..yah, saw that...

When text is added that extends the page, the HOT DEALS form (and all the
content in that column) moved down, and center in the middle, even though
I have "valign=top".
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sparkyg
post Sep 29 2006, 12:04 PM
Post #12


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 29-September 06
From: Suffolk UK
Member No.: 270



The gap between everything under one roof and hot deals jim
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 12:07 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



QUOTE(Sparkyg @ Sep 29 2006, 01:04 PM) *

The gap between everything under one roof and hot deals jim


Exactly.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 29 2006, 12:20 PM
Post #14


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



Yeah still not for me, but I can see the tables being confusing to troubleshoot wacko.gif

IPB Image

But you might add a DOCTYPE so at least all browsers are using the same mode to view the page
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 12:24 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



QUOTE(jimlongo @ Sep 29 2006, 01:20 PM) *

Yeah still not for me, but I can see the tables being confusing to troubleshoot wacko.gif

IPB Image

But you might add a DOCTYPE so at least all browsers are using the same mode to view the page


Wow. What browser are you using?
It happens in both Firefox and Internet Explorer for me.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 29 2006, 12:37 PM
Post #16


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



Sorry I'm using a Mac . . . sometimes it feels quite pointless joining in these discussions where Explorer has all kinds of problems rendering pages that I can't see.

Oh well sad.gif


Anyway if it makes y'all feel better there is a problem in FF on a Mac see the graphic at the top left
IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CSpoon
post Sep 29 2006, 01:01 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 275



QUOTE(jimlongo @ Sep 29 2006, 01:37 PM) *

Sorry I'm using a Mac . . . sometimes it feels quite pointless joining in these discussions where Explorer has all kinds of problems rendering pages that I can't see.

Oh well sad.gif


Anyway if it makes y'all feel better there is a problem in FF on a Mac see the graphic at the top left
IPB Image


Hey, thanks for responding.
This I can fix, and will, 'cause I do like Macs :-)
Cheers.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th February 2019 - 08:40 PM