The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why are there some really long class names?
wdgjunkie
post May 30 2018, 11:37 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 26,652

Hello there,

I'm fairly new to programming, so please excuse my ignorance. As I'm perusing different websites studying the different html/css syntax, I am coming across the typical "container," "header," etc. classes which I am understanding, but I am also finding some very ornate, long-winded class names such as:

CODE
<body class="home blog tm-isblog wp-home wp-front_page" data-gr-c-s-loaded="true">

or

CODE
<div class="uk-navbar-content uk-navbar-center uk-visible-small">

or

CODE
<section class="tm-top-a uk-grid tm-grid-block" data-uk-grid-match="{target:'> div > .uk-panel'}">

I am just curious as to why a developer would choose to name a class to such a degree instead of something much simpler. Could someone help me understand the reasoning behind this, as well as how I am supposed to know how to name the class when a name this descriptive is in order?

This post has been edited by wdgjunkie: May 30 2018, 11:39 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 30 2018, 02:37 PM
Post #2

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

They could be stupid. Or they don't think. Or the names come from some template. I see a wp prefix which I assume stands for WordPress. Programmers are seldom good at front end and many templates for blogs and forums are a mess when it comes to HTML and CSS.

Personally I like shortish names, but not so short I don't understand what they mean a year after I came up with them. Not too much abbreviations. Above all I try to use meaningful names. If that means the name gets long, so be it.

Like I wouldn't use top_navigation_bar when I can just as well use topnav. But I would never use something like tnb.