The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> XHTML and tables with images as background or cells with only images strange behaviour
boost2029
post Apr 21 2011, 05:28 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 14,383



Hello nice people!

My skills at html and css are poor so please forgive my sure dumb question.

I have added html code and css stuff to a web page of mine, and in order to get this new code working, I needed to add this:

CODE

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-gb" xml:lang="en-gb">


doing this certainly solved my problem but raised a new one, as a table that before looked ok now looks bad, as the cells are now bigger than they where. The cells from the table have images inside or have a image as background. I mean this:

CODE

<tr>
        <td style="height: 10px; width: 10px"><img border="0" src="screen_top_left.gif"></td>
        <td background="screen_top_middle.gif"></td>
        <td style="height: 10px; width: 10px"><img border="0" src="screen_top_right.gif"></td>
</tr>


what am I missing? To fix one thing I screwed another, is it possible to have both the xhtml stuff activated and the table looking ok as before?

thanks a lot and have a good day!

Juan
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 21 2011, 07:02 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



What you did evoked Standards Mode (AKA as Strict Mode) in browsers. It isn't the XML per se. See http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/ .

I think you need to post the URL to the page for us to be able to help. There must be something else involved, maybe in the CSS.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 21 2011, 07:11 PM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



In what browser do you see this? Could it be the problem described here?
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Images,_Ta...Mysterious_Gaps
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 21 2011, 07:16 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Probably. I forgot that takes Standards Mode.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
boost2029
post Apr 22 2011, 06:14 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 14,383



Hey Darin thanks a lot!

At the first attempt to fix the problem using the methods sugested in the article you posted the table looked again as before.

I only had to add "td img {display: block;}" in the css file and voila!

thanks much for sharing your knwoledgement it helped a lot!

Juan
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th April 2024 - 08:38 AM