The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linking multiple images
Berrian
post Oct 28 2009, 11:28 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 28-October 09
Member No.: 10,165



Hello folks, yes i am new here and yes i searched for a bit first blink.gif .

I am no expert, i just find examples and fiddle with it until i figure it out. What I am trying to do is have multiple pictures in a row that are linked to a different page per picture. The problem I have is I get the first picture and link text to show, but the next just shows the 2nd link text and no picture.

this is an example, a poor one, but still of what i want to do:
(pic1)link text
(pic2)link text
(pic3)link text

This is what I am actually getting:
(pic1)link text
link text (for pic2 but no picture)

wacko.gif



This post has been edited by Berrian: Oct 28 2009, 12:05 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 28 2009, 11:59 AM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,402
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Can you post the link to the page in question? Can't say what you did wrong without seeing it.

QUOTE
My host does not allow java script


Really? That sounds crazy. Why do you use them?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Berrian
post Oct 28 2009, 12:07 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 28-October 09
Member No.: 10,165



This is the link to my website, The html block i am trying to do this in is at the bottom of the page. You will see one image and one link; http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/


QUOTE(pandy @ Oct 28 2009, 12:59 PM) *

Can you post the link to the page in question? Can't say what you did wrong without seeing it.

QUOTE
My host does not allow java script


Really? That sounds crazy. Why do you use them?

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Berrian
post Oct 28 2009, 12:10 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 28-October 09
Member No.: 10,165



If you look at the top of the page, I have a bunch of links to various things. To me, that looks messy and not very organized. The linked pictures is my 2nd option. My first option, which i would still love to do is create a menu or buttons so i can look a little neater and user friendly.

This is a copy of the email between the host and I: the menu links is exactly what i would love to get to work:

Hello,

You are unfortunately not able to add your own code based on script tags for security reasons, so that unfortunately would not work =(

You can directly use flash buttons if you wanted, embedded in an html block, but not ones which require javascript

I hope that helps, if you have any further questions please let me know =)

On Tue, Oct 27, 2009 at 2:03 PM, <sinaxis30@yahoo.com> wrote:


Heya guys, I have been trying to figure out how to add buttons and menus on my website, here http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/. I have several links on the front page and I want to make it seem a little more professional and friendly by adding buttons and menus and such, like this one i tried here: <script src="http://h1.flashvortex.com/display.php?id=3_1256665995_29269_151_0_142_242_6_8" type="text/javascript"></script>

or here, not sure if you will be able to see these http://www.flashvortex.com/download.php?generatorId=151

I have messed with it a bit but I always just get the code and source that shows and not the menu and buttons. Could you guys help me out with that? thanks




--
Cheers,

8 Toes
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Berrian
post Oct 28 2009, 01:13 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 28-October 09
Member No.: 10,165



This is the code I have frankensteined together for linking multiple pictures so far:

<ol>
<P ALIGN="left">
<li><a href="http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/forum_categories/43756"><img src="http://www.exchange3d.com/cubecart/images/uploads/aff82/model_235_aaa.jpg" Hspace="0" Vspace="0" HEIGHT="50" width="85" border="0"> Weapons Stock</a></p></li><br>
<P Align="left">
<li><a href="http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/forum_categories/43757><img src="http://www.exchange3d.com/cubecart/images/uploads/aff82/model_235_aaa.jpg"height="50" Width="85" border="0">Order Weapons</a></li></ol></p>



Now keep in mind I really have no clue what I am doing, so if this looks retarded, feel free to correct now and laugh later biggrin.gif I see the first image with Weapons Stock next to it, the image and text are both links. I do not see the 2nd image but i do see Order Weapons as a link. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have about a dozen more pics i want to link, all on the same page but I cannot even get past the first two!!!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Oct 28 2009, 04:27 PM
Post #6


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,316
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Our online validator reports markup errors:
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...mp;warnings=yes
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 28 2009, 05:16 PM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,402
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



A don't find a linked image beside a text link at the page. Neither do I find the HTML you posted above. The problem with the link there is that you have forgotten the closing quote here.
<a href="http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/forum_categories/43757">

Also, you can't put P between OL and LI. You can't put anything there. If you need to use P, it must go inside the LI. The Ps are wrongly nested too. All you need is really this.

HTML
<ol>
<li><a href="http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/forum_categories/43756"><img src="http://www.exchange3d.com/cubecart/images/uploads/aff82/model_235_aaa.jpg" HEIGHT="50" width="85" border="0" alt="ALTERNATE TEXT HERE if needed, else leave blank."> Weapons Stock</a></li>

<li><a href="http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/forum_categories/43757"><img src="http://www.exchange3d.com/cubecart/images/uploads/aff82/model_235_aaa.jpg" height="50" Width="85" border="0" alt="ALTERNATE TEXT HERE if needed, else leave blank."> ">Order Weapons</a></li>
</ol>


Align, vspace and all that aren't needed since you used the default values anyway.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Berrian
post Oct 30 2009, 08:28 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 28-October 09
Member No.: 10,165



Thank you Pandy,
Hehe forgive my noobishness as I am learning as I go. A lot of the LI and OL stuff were left in as stuff i had been experimenting with and was just too lazy to remove. My next question is this, what is the key thing that created the break and allowed both images to be shown? I had the link for the 2nd picture before but not the image. Just trying to understand it a bit here as I am teaching myself.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 30 2009, 08:37 PM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,402
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I never saw it on a working page, so I don't know how it looked before or after. But if you talk about the HTML you posted above, the missing quote could very well cause the following picture to not show up. The quoates are delimiters. As you had it the value of href was this:

CODE
a href="http://fmshop.mmoguildsites.com/forum_categories/43757><img src="


If the browser interprets it that way, there isn't any image tag at all, just some junk code.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2019 - 10:38 PM