The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> video not playing
MindyT
post Nov 12 2013, 02:39 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 12-November 13
Member No.: 19,963



Hi, could I get help getting a video playing on firefox?

CODE

<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<?php
    require_once("functions.php");
?>
    <html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<link href="lon.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
</head>

<body>
  <div class="container">
    <div class="sidebar1">
    <img src="assets/road.jpg" width="200" height="200" alt="road" />

<!-- end .sidebar1 --></div>
  <div class="content">
    <?php headerMenu(); ?>

     </header>
    <div id="mainContent">

<video width="640" height="360" controls>

    <source src="assets/barbie.mp4" type="video/mp4">
    <source src="assets/barbie.OGV" type="video/ogg">
  <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="/mov/player.swf"  
width="320" height="240">  
    <param name="allowfullscreen" value="true">  
    <param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always">  
    <param name="flashvars" value="file=/mov/scene.mp4">  
    <!--[if IE]><param name="movie" value="/mov/player.swf"><![endif]-->  
    <img src="/img/scene-preview.jpg" width="320" height="240" alt="Video">  
    <p>Sorry but your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.</p>  
  </object>  
</video>
     </div>
    <!-- end .content --></div>
    <div class="sidebar2">
    <img src="assets/road.jpg" width="200" height="200" alt="road" />
<!-- end .sidebar2 --></div>
    <footer>
    </footer>
<!-- end .container --></div>
</body>
</html>


This post has been edited by MindyT: Nov 12 2013, 02:49 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 12 2013, 02:47 PM
Post #2


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



Does your version of Firefox support the source files you have available?

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/HT...d_media_formats
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MindyT
post Nov 12 2013, 03:20 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 12-November 13
Member No.: 19,963



I'm using the latest version of firefoxand it says it supports mpd. I'm new to video in html5. I'm not understanding this at all. Could you help me a little more?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 12 2013, 03:44 PM
Post #4


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



It would help if I had the url so I could inspect the video files.

The barbie.OGV file is probably incompatible in some way. But without seeing it I couldn't really say.

It's possible that if you remove the reference to the OGV file it might play in Firefox, depending on your OS.

There are multiple issues you can run into.

Frankly lately I've decided to host my files using JWPlayer's Bits on the Run compression and playback servers. It's free and eliminates a lot of problems.

But let me see the URL and maybe I can help.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MindyT
post Nov 12 2013, 08:32 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 12-November 13
Member No.: 19,963



thank you so much. The url is http://anothermileministries.net/homeTest.php
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 12 2013, 08:47 PM
Post #6


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



http://anothermileministries.net/assets/barbie.OGV returns a 404

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MindyT
post Nov 13 2013, 09:59 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 12-November 13
Member No.: 19,963



Thank you so much for helping. I fixed that error and it works in firefox, off but not in IE. I have researched this and it seems to be a common problem but I haven't found a solution. Is there one?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 13 2013, 11:00 PM
Post #8


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



IE9? I think it's pretty finicky about codecs.
Your mp4 file is Apple MPEG4 Compressor, maybe IE would feel better if it was vanilla profile h264
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MindyT
post Nov 14 2013, 02:37 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 12-November 13
Member No.: 19,963



I'm sorry, could you tell me what you mean by profile h264?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 15 2013, 12:46 AM
Post #10


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_codec
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_codecs#Video_codecs


h264, Apple MPEG, Sorenson, etc., are all various codecs. MP4 is a container format that can contain various codecs. So you have an MP4 container that is holding a file that has the Apple MPEG video codec and probably a AAC audio codec. What would be best safest for web use is an MP4 containing H264 video and AAC audio.

The file was probably created (maybe Final Cut, Permiere, Compressor) and exported using the Apple MPEG codec. If you can redo that and select H264 hat might solve the IE9 issue.

Download this file.
I've transcoded your file into H264/AAC.
See if that works any better.

This post has been edited by jimlongo: Nov 15 2013, 12:59 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MindyT
post Nov 15 2013, 01:55 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 12-November 13
Member No.: 19,963



Ok, I uploaded the file to my file but where in the code do I add it? Do I add this line?
<source src="assets/._barbie.mp4" type="video/mp4">
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 15 2013, 02:06 PM
Post #12


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



I wouldn't put a dot at the beginning of the name, but yes whatever you called it in place of the line that was there originally.

original line
<source src="assets/barbie.mp4" type="video/mp4">
replace with
<source src="assets/nameOfNewFile.mp4" type="video/mp4">
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 12:31 AM