The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SSI conditional help, ssi image gallery detect file
Harley
post Apr 17 2009, 11:41 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-April 09
Member No.: 8,363



I have been rewriting my fathers web site with server side includes to make future editing easier and faster.
colorwrite.webs.com
My web hosting service is running Apache/1.3.39 (Unix) mod_jk/1.2.26 mod_layout/3.2 mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a mod_throttle/3.1.2
No, they do not support php, and they have no idea they support ssi.

My question is can a fsize or flastmod be sent to a variable? or even better, used directly in an if directive?
I would like to keep my photo gallery images and descriptions in the same folder to find and edit them easily rather than wading through a massive html file like I was just a week ago. And also be able to reuse the descriptions on other pages.

-I have seen what I want to do several times in a google search, but my server does not seem to allow directives within directives like this...
<!--#config errmsg=""-->
<--#if expr="<!--#flastmod file="$fn/$ct.txt"--> != //" -->
<!--#include file="$fn/$ct.txt"-->
<--#else -->
No description for $fn/$in$ct.jpg, move on to next
<--#endif -->

-I have also seen this wich seems to only work in Apache/2
<!--#if expr="-A /$fn/$ct.txt"-->
<!--#include file="$fn/$ct.txt"-->
<!--#else -->No text for $in$ct.jpg
<!--#endif -->


-This is my current code (abbreviated), it works, but has limitations.
-contents of topic.html
<!--#set var="in" value="image name" -->
<!--#set var="fn" value="folder name" -->
<!--#set var="ct" value="01" --><!--#include file="list.shtml" -->
<!--#set var="ct" value="02" --><!--#include file="list.shtml" -->
and repeat
-contents of list.shtml
<!--#set var="ip" value=".html/gallery/project/$fn/$in" --> <!-- image path_info for link -->
<!--#set var="lnk" value="$pp$fn$ip$ct" --> <!-- link to image number whatever -->
<!--#set var="tp" value="$pp$fn/$in$ct.jpg" --> <!-- path to thumbnail number whatever -->
<li>
<a href="<!--#echo var="lnk" -->">
<img src="<!--#echo var="tp" -->">
<span>
<!--#config errmsg="No text for $in$ct.jpg"-->
<!--#include file="$fn/$ct.txt" -->
</span></a></li>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 18 2009, 01:30 AM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Harley @ Apr 18 2009, 06:41 AM) *

My question is can a fsize or flastmod be sent to a variable? or even better, used directly in an if directive?


Yes, but the syntax you use is all wrong. You can't nest directives for starters. I got a severe case of dumbness right now and have to go to beed in a hurry, but a think the solution lies here. tongue.gif
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/mod_i...ml#substitution

Honestly, I know this can be done, but I'm not sure how to write it. I'll try tonight (it's morning now) if you haven't figured it out on your own by then, but I can't promise I can do it. Those dollar signs always get me. Hopefully Darin or someone else can straight this out.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Harley
post Apr 18 2009, 07:51 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-April 09
Member No.: 8,363



I found this example today and it doesn't seen to work either?
There must be a way to do this, I have seen many examples that do not seem to work, is everyone else wrong, or did I miss something simple?

<!--#fcreated virtual="TEST.TXT" fmt="?" -->
<!--#if var={THE_FILE_NAME} eqs="" -->
File does not exist!
<!--#else -->
File exists!
<!--#endif -->
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 18 2009, 10:12 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Hi, I spoke out of turn yesterday. It seems your first example is legit. But I think you have the quotes wrong. You have double quotes everywhere, like this.
CODE
<--#if expr="<!--#flastmod file="$fn/$ct.txt"--> != //" -->

Try to alternate double and single quotes, like this.
CODE
<--#if expr='<!--#flastmod file="$fn/$ct.txt"--> != //' -->


I haven't tried the whole thing. I just did this, which worked
CODE
<!--#if expr='<!--#flastmod value="test.txt" --> != //' -->
YES!
<!--#endif -->
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Harley
post Apr 19 2009, 12:45 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-April 09
Member No.: 8,363



Valiant effort, but still no dice. I can't believe how many 404s I have encountered looking for this info.
After Googling for about an hour I found this passage which seems to suggest the problem is the server version not allowing nested directives.
QUOTE
"All the information relates to PHP4 and Apache 1.3. Little appears to have changed with PHP5 but Apache 2.x seems on first glance to allow a more flexible approach to nesting SSI and PHP."

Perhaps the answer is to eliminate the IF ELSE and allow it to fail quietly on the client end, filling up the error log on the server end.
I would attempt to contact WEBS.COM, but they insist ssi is not enabled on their servers, and my Premium user support tickets take up to a week for flakey, sometimes horribly incorrect answers. They do not have an e-mail address.
I would cry if they found out the truth and turned ssi off.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 19 2009, 01:28 AM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I'm stumped too. I've never tried this before. Didn't my simple snip work either? If not, I guess it's the server. They run Apache 1.3?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Harley
post Apr 19 2009, 05:14 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-April 09
Member No.: 8,363



Yes, they are
QUOTE
My web hosting service is running Apache/1.3.39 (Unix) mod_jk/1.2.26 mod_layout/3.2 mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a mod_throttle/3.1.2


I did get it running, I can ony imagine what their error log looks like without the If directives wacko.gif

example here:gallery/project/39oiltank.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
grykolip
post Apr 30 2009, 04:58 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-April 09
Member No.: 8,480



i tryed to get it running but i coludnt sad.gif

This post has been edited by grykolip: Apr 30 2009, 04:58 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2024 - 08:39 AM