The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drop down box opening in new window?, I would like to have, when selected, an item on the drop down menu to
mzymblo
post Sep 29 2010, 12:15 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-September 10
Member No.: 12,829



Hi all! What I would to achieve is for the drop list menu to open its links on the same page without opening another window. I load the below page using an inline frame I've listed the code below; thanks so much in advance for the help I have no idea what I'm doing wrong!

==========================================inline frame============================================================

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

<head>
<meta content="text/html; charset=utf-8" http-equiv="Content-Type" />
<title>Untitled 1</title>
</head>

<body>

<iframe id="I1" border="0" frameborder="0" name="I1" scrolling="no" src="http://hildebrandtlc.org/centers/centermain.html" style="width: 515px; height: 630px">Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.
</iframe>

</body>

</html>


=====================================================main page============================================

<head>
<style type="text/css">
.style1 {
background-image: url('http://hildebrandtlc.org/centers/globaljpg/scroll2.gif');
}
</style>
</head>

<table class="style1" style="width: 525; height: 640">
<tr>
<td> </td>
</tr>
</table>
<div id="zipcodelocate" style="position: absolute; width: 100px; height: 100px; z-index: 1; left: 135px; top: 180px">
<script src="http://live.zipcodeworld.com/script/storelocator.js"></script>
<table style="width: 335px;" border="0" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td style="width: 158px;">ZIP Code<span style="color: #ff0000;">*</span></td>
<td><input id="zip" maxlength="8" size="8" type="text" name="zip" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="width: 158px;"><input id="chkRange" value="on" checked="true" type="checkbox" name="chkRange" />Search within</td>
<td><select id="range" name="range" width="80">
<option>5</option>
<option>10</option>
<option>25</option>
<option selected="true">50</option>
<option>100</option>
<option>250</option>
</select> Miles </td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="width: 158px;"><input id="chkRecord" value="on" checked="true" type="checkbox" name="chkRecord" />Centers displayed</td>
<td><select id="record" name="record">
<option>5</option>
<option>10</option>
<option>25</option>
<option>50</option>
<option selected="true">100</option>
<option>250</option>
</select> </td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="width: 158px;"><input id="uid" value="1811" type="hidden" name="uid" /></td>
<td><input onclick="return storelocatorv2();" value="Find Centers" type="button" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="width: 158px;"></td>
<td></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table></div>
<div id="layer1" style="position: absolute; width: 205px; height: 80px; z-index: 2; left: 210px; top: 370px">
<script type="text/javascript">
function MM_jumpMenuGo(objId,targ,restore){ //v9.0
var selObj = null; with (document) {
if (getElementById) selObj = getElementById(objId);
if (selObj) eval(targ+".location='"+selObj.options[selObj.selectedIndex].value+"'");
if (restore) selObj.selectedIndex=0; }
}
</script>
<form id="form" name="form">
<select style="width: 162px;" id="jumpMenu" name="jumpMenu">
<option selected="true">Select a Center</option>
<option value="http://hildebrandtlearningcenters.publishpath.com/albright-early-learning-center">Albright Early Learning Center</option>
</select> <input id="go_button" onclick="MM_jumpMenuGo('jumpMenu','parent',0)" value="Go" type="button" name="go_button" />
</form></div>


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
mzymblo
post Sep 29 2010, 02:54 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-September 10
Member No.: 12,829



***Update*** This opens correctly when the page within the iframe is viewed as a stand alone webapge.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 29 2010, 03:58 PM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,272
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Can you provide the URL (address) of a document that demonstrates the problem?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
mzymblo
post Sep 30 2010, 07:44 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-September 10
Member No.: 12,829



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Sep 29 2010, 04:58 PM) *

Can you provide the URL (address) of a document that demonstrates the problem?


http://hildebrandtlearningcenters.publishpath.com/centers

It seems to work in Chrome, Thanks for the reply =)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 30 2010, 08:26 AM
Post #5


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,867
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



When I use the menu it opens http://hildebrandtlearningcenters.publishp...learning-center in the parent window --isn't that what you want?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 30 2010, 12:22 PM
Post #6


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,272
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



In what browser(s) do you see the problem?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
SaraSHarner
post Oct 7 2010, 06:37 PM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 7-October 10
Member No.: 12,892



I dont see the problem, it opens ok in my browser, and it's firefox 3.6.10
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
wgabrie
post Oct 8 2010, 08:12 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 11-July 10
Member No.: 12,279



From what I can tell, mzymblo has a Javascript that links to a new page. However, he/she is dealing with a page within a page.

The outer web page is just an empty wrapper containing an iframe. The iframe contains the redirect script. This causes, and I'm just guessing here that, some web browsers redirect the outer page while others just redirect the inner iframe box to the new location.

Perhaps the Javascript needs take into account iframe awareness to set the desired outcome instead of leaving it up to the browser what to do?

This post has been edited by wgabrie: Oct 8 2010, 08:18 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th August 2018 - 01:33 AM