The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to Stop <meta http-equiv="refresh"
MichaelVest
post Nov 18 2011, 01:35 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



I have always programed my own website and must say that people seem to like what I do.
I have always used a combination of flash and html but I need to work up an html version only.

I am a professional photographer so a slide show is very important to me.

I have been using this as a way to change html pages showing different photos:

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="4;URL=%NEXTIMAGE_NOQUOTE%">

It works great but I also have a form field on the pages to "sign up for our e-list".

I need a way to stop the refresh if someone wants to sign up.

Any suggestions would be great!

Can't provide a link since this is still in developement!

Thanks,

Michael
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Nov 18 2011, 03:56 PM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,653
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



How about a javascript-based one? http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ has a few to choose from.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MichaelVest
post Nov 18 2011, 04:01 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



Thanks for your suggestions Christian have tried a slide show to do it but have never found one that I am happy with. Need something that would read from a dir list or something similar for a slide show. Updating the photos often is really important, I did the refresh so that I could just name the images 1-10 etc.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Nov 19 2011, 05:41 AM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



How about http://www.javascriptkit.com/javatutors/externalphp2.shtml ? Or others by searching for "php slideshow from folder".
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MichaelVest
post Nov 20 2011, 12:00 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



Thanks Frederiek, I think this will work although I can't figure out how to center the slideshow. Your help is appreciated smile.gif

http://michaelvest.com/slideshow.htm
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Nov 20 2011, 06:35 AM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



The styling of the surrounding div doesn't match your images.

Change:
CODE
style="width: 170px; height: 160px;"

to:
CODE
style="width: 800px; height: 500px; margin: 0 auto;"

BTW, you can even leave out the height:
CODE
style="width: 800px; margin: 0 auto;"
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MichaelVest
post Nov 20 2011, 10:29 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



QUOTE(Frederiek @ Nov 20 2011, 06:35 AM) *

The styling of the surrounding div doesn't match your images.

Change:
CODE
style="width: 170px; height: 160px;"

to:
CODE
style="width: 800px; height: 500px; margin: 0 auto;"

BTW, you can even leave out the height:
CODE
style="width: 800px; margin: 0 auto;"





Thanks Frederiek...I tried recoding but it still isn't centering? sad.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Nov 20 2011, 01:49 PM
Post #8


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



You left in the height without a value. Use my last code:
<div style="width: 800px; margin: 0 auto;">...>/div>

Works for me (Safari 4/Mac OS Tiger).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MichaelVest
post Nov 20 2011, 04:25 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



Hey Frederiek, thanks I fixed the code but still not centered.
Using Explorer 8 sad.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 20 2011, 06:43 PM
Post #10


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Did you read what I said in the other thread you made about this? Did you add an approprieate doctype?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MichaelVest
post Nov 20 2011, 09:14 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



QUOTE(pandy @ Nov 20 2011, 06:43 PM) *

Did you read what I said in the other thread you made about this? Did you add an approprieate doctype?




Hey Pandy, tried reading it and rereading it and tried several things but for some reason I can't understand it sad.gif maybe I am missing something...I will take a look again. I appreciate all of your help!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 20 2011, 09:33 PM
Post #12


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



No one understands that the first read. It's a big fat mess actually, as often happens when browser vendors go and do things on their own.

Use this if you plan to write HTML Strict
CODE
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">


and this if you want to use HTML Transitional.
CODE
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">


Point is IE doesn't understand centering with auto margins when it is in Quirks Mode. There are many reason to see to that browsers are in Standards Mode (AKA as Strict Mode). Not using any doctype at all gives you Quirks. In Quirks browsers basically emulate older and quirkier versions of themselves, so you'll have more bugs, less understanding for CSS and more differences between browsers. Not good.

Note that Strict Mode isn't the same as using a Strict doctype. It's just an unlucky choice of words. If you ask me, choosing doctypes as triggers for these rendering modes wasn't a very bright idea to start with. But that is as it is now.

Also see http://htmlhelp.com/tools/validator/doctype.html .
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
MichaelVest
post Nov 20 2011, 10:33 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-November 11
Member No.: 15,889



OMG I GOT IT smile.gif

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!!

I'll be back I am sure smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 10:18 PM