The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Textarea, Writing to a textarea via a javascript function
fez
post Mar 13 2007, 08:08 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-March 07
Member No.: 2,195



Hi:
I have the following problem: I am to write an amoritzation table by using a combination of HTML and JavaScript functions. At one point I would like to write information pertaining the amortization schedule such as number of payment, update of balance and principal, etc... I would like my textarea to look something along the lines of the following:

Payment
Number Interest Principal Balance
1 $xx.xx $xx.xx $xx.xx
2 $xx.xx $xx.xx $xx.xx
3 $xx.xx $xx.xx $xx.xx
4 $xx.xx $xx.xx $xx.xx
5 $xx.xx $xx.xx $xx.xx

Unfortunately I have only learned the basics and this problem is something I can't quite figure out. Can somebody talk me through the steps? Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Mar 13 2007, 08:51 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,259
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I recommend that you not use a textarea for that. Use a table instead. That's exactly the kind of data a table is designed for.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
fez
post Mar 14 2007, 10:29 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-March 07
Member No.: 2,195



Hi:
Thanks for the prompt answer however I was told to use a textarea since it is something I have not been exposed to yet.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Mar 14 2007, 11:25 AM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,259
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



A textarea element is a form control for the user to enter multi-line text input. If you need to use one so you can be "exposed" to it, then you should use it to accept multi-line text input.

You should not use a textarea element to display tabular data. Use a table element for tabular data.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 04:54 PM