The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Random bold text in html file, Only happens in chrome browser
tosridhar
post Jan 30 2016, 12:00 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-January 16
Member No.: 23,945



Hi - I see random bold text in my site (image enclosed). It only happens in chrome browser and it only happens when you click on another link (eg technology) and click back on the home page. When I refresh this page - everything becomes normal again. There is nothing wrong with html code that I can see.

The site is http://iclinical.co/

Any specific fix to the problem would be highly appreciated.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jan 30 2016, 12:21 PM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,579
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Have you fixed the problem? I don't see any random bold text anywhere. Using Firefox v44.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tosridhar
post Jan 30 2016, 12:23 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-January 16
Member No.: 23,945



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Jan 30 2016, 12:21 PM) *

Have you fixed the problem? I don't see any random bold text anywhere. Using Firefox v44.



No - It only happens in chrome browser - it is fine in Microsoft edge
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jan 30 2016, 12:27 PM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,579
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(tosridhar @ Jan 30 2016, 11:23 AM) *

QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Jan 30 2016, 12:21 PM) *

Have you fixed the problem? I don't see any random bold text anywhere. Using Firefox v44.


No - It only happens in chrome browser - it is fine in Microsoft edge
I don't use Chrome. Guess we'll have to wait for someone who does.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 30 2016, 01:41 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,132
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Me neither. But I have Iron and it looks fine in that too. Possibly I don't have the latest version. I'll check.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 30 2016, 01:49 PM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,132
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Nope. Downloaded the latest version. No boldness here. There's nothing in the makup that denotes the bold words either, so I guess it must be some strange bug.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 30 2016, 02:07 PM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,132
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Find a lot about font related bugs in Chrome when I google, but nothing that I think fits this.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tosridhar
post Jan 30 2016, 02:07 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-January 16
Member No.: 23,945



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 30 2016, 01:49 PM) *

Nope. Downloaded the latest version. No boldness here. There's nothing in the makup that denotes the bold words either, so I guess it must be some strange bug.




Thanks for checking - It happens consistently on my computer. If few people say it is fine - I will just assume it renders fine on other browsers/computers
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jan 30 2016, 03:07 PM
Post #9


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,579
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I also tested with Chromodo, which is a Chrome based browser. No bold text in it either.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tosridhar
post Jan 30 2016, 03:58 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-January 16
Member No.: 23,945



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Jan 30 2016, 03:07 PM) *

I also tested with Chromodo, which is a Chrome based browser. No bold text in it either.



Thanks
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jan 30 2016, 05:50 PM
Post #11


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I don't use Chrome either. I use Safari on Mac (still on OS X ML) and the page looks fine to me too.

I inspected the first paragraph of the page and found that it is contained in a SPAN tag, though I don't understand why,. The text already is inside a P tag, so the SPAN doesn't make sense and is not needed.
And that P has font-weight: 200; assigned to it (for #home-body #overview-header p at line 301 of styles.css).

200 is apparently not enough weight to turn the text to bold in my browser, but maybe that's sufficient in Chrome. Although the entire paragraph should then have been bold.

Anyway, you might like to validate your site at https://validator.w3.org/nu/ and fix the few reported errors.

And while you're at it, check the CSS too at http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/ and fix those errors.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 30 2016, 06:07 PM
Post #12


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,132
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Odd. I did the same thing with Iron and didn't see any markup inside the P. I looked at the text in the screen cap. I must look again.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 30 2016, 06:08 PM
Post #13


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,132
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Right, there is a SPAN directly inside the P, forgot about it. But there's nothing that makes the bolded words stand out.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 30 2016, 08:23 PM
Post #14


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,043
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Seems every occurence of trial, in, and, of and to is bold in the screenshot. Are always these same words affected?

If it's not a browser bug I'd try removing the javascripts (one at the time), maybe something's broken there.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 31 2016, 11:30 AM
Post #15


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,043
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Also check your Chrome browser addons, maybe some (broken?) malware addon is installed? But I guess such an addon should insert advertizing links, not just bold text.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Rothgarr
post Feb 11 2016, 03:07 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 11-February 16
Member No.: 23,989



QUOTE(tosridhar @ Jan 30 2016, 12:00 PM) *

Hi - I see random bold text in my site (image enclosed). It only happens in chrome browser and it only happens when you click on another link (eg technology) and click back on the home page. When I refresh this page - everything becomes normal again. There is nothing wrong with html code that I can see.

The site is http://iclinical.co/

Any specific fix to the problem would be highly appreciated.

I was having the same problem with a site I set up. Random bold words. It didn't always do it and I only noticed it last week. Were you were able to figure out what it was?

I ONLY noticed the issue in Windows version of Chrome, not the Mac version of Chrome.

I noticed you are also using Lato font. The only way I was able to fix it was to use a different font.

I tried all kinds of css overrides but nothing fixed it. I think it's a Chrome/Lato bug but I'm still curious if you were able to fix it somehow.

This post has been edited by Rothgarr: Feb 11 2016, 03:07 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tosridhar
post Feb 11 2016, 09:39 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-January 16
Member No.: 23,945



QUOTE(Rothgarr @ Feb 11 2016, 03:07 PM) *

QUOTE(tosridhar @ Jan 30 2016, 12:00 PM) *

Hi - I see random bold text in my site (image enclosed). It only happens in chrome browser and it only happens when you click on another link (eg technology) and click back on the home page. When I refresh this page - everything becomes normal again. There is nothing wrong with html code that I can see.

The site is http://iclinical.co/

Any specific fix to the problem would be highly appreciated.

I was having the same problem with a site I set up. Random bold words. It didn't always do it and I only noticed it last week. Were you were able to figure out what it was?

I ONLY noticed the issue in Windows version of Chrome, not the Mac version of Chrome.

I noticed you are also using Lato font. The only way I was able to fix it was to use a different font.

I tried all kinds of css overrides but nothing fixed it. I think it's a Chrome/Lato bug but I'm still curious if you were able to fix it somehow.



Thanks for the suggestion - I will try the font change and see it fixes it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th February 2019 - 07:34 PM