The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Border Tag Not Working, I've entered a border tag and it's still showing.
menkeman
post Sep 16 2010, 04:31 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-September 10
Member No.: 12,744



Hi All,

I'm not a programmer but I'm as good a hack as most. I am working on a web-site and can't figure out why my border tags aren't doing what I want them too.

Here's the page:

www.theonecoach.com/index1.htm

I want the images to the right of the text in the main body to have no borders around them. I put a gray background around the top one to ensure it was the right cell that was showing through. Frustrating...

Please HELP ;-D

Thanks!

Robert

This post has been edited by menkeman: Sep 16 2010, 04:32 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 16 2010, 04:39 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,766
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



404

And what do you mean when you say border tags?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 16 2010, 05:35 PM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,766
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Now the page is up. I find 13 border attributes. They are all set to 0 and I see no borders on the page so...?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
menkeman
post Sep 16 2010, 05:58 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-September 10
Member No.: 12,744



Yeah, but on the right side where there's two black with white images half way down the page, a border shows up even though the tags are set to 0. That's my challenge. Why is the browser displaying a border? I set the top one to a gray background so it shows up faintly. I did that so I could see the border was showing up around those two cells in the table. Hope that helps you help me ;-D Thanks for posting Pandy...

QUOTE(pandy @ Sep 16 2010, 05:35 PM) *

Now the page is up. I find 13 border attributes. They are all set to 0 and I see no borders on the page so...?

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 16 2010, 06:12 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,766
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It isn't a border. Is the background color of the TD the image is in that shows around it. You notice it for that image just because you have given it a gray background color. Set cellpadding to 0.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 16 2010, 06:21 PM
Post #6


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,257
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



While you're at it...

There is no doctype, which puts browsers into quirks mode:
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/

Our online validator reports markup errors, including some structural problems:
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...mp;warnings=yes
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th November 2017 - 06:39 AM