The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Web design help please?, PNG Transparency Hack in IE????
ian haydon
post Sep 24 2006, 03:14 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 226

Hi im new, please be gentle. Basically im new to designing and this sort of lark i usually create images for sites on a freelance level. So this site im doing for a friend is a starter. It may not be CSS or the most complex but it looks visually ok, and thats all i carefor at present.

Basically the template for a site im doing can be be seen on the link below:

http://www.focuswebs.co.uk/clients/hollie/

It looks lovely in firefox and is exactly how i planned for it to! However ther two issues i have is that-

Ive just found IE5/6 doesnt support PNG files. Im working with IE7 at home so its my ignorance that let me get this far in without noticing! Is there a way to fix this? Ive heard of some "HACKS" but i wouldnt have a clue about implementing them or which is best? I am using both PNG files in images and repeating BG images(which look fine in firefox).

BAsically if u view it in firefox-this is how i want it in IE.

The other prolem is the bottom of the film reel doesnt line up with the footer? I know FF and IE interpret tables wrong? IS there an easy fix for this?

I appreciate any help you guys can offer - Il b about alot on here as ive read some interesting articles before i joined!

Thanks in advance- IAN
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 24 2006, 03:44 PM
Post #2

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 7

QUOTE(ian haydon @ Sep 24 2006, 10:14 PM) *

Hi im new, please be gentle.

I'll do my best. ohmy.gif

http://www.focuswebs.co.uk/clients/hollie/

Ive just found IE5/6 doesnt support PNG files.

It does, just not alpha (gradient) transparency.