The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> tageting two iframes
ffomega
post Dec 9 2009, 04:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-December 09
Member No.: 10,538



Hi, I am making a website for someone and I want it to be done soon....I have the page in the following layout:

IPB Image

The image displayed above is kinda self explanatory. I have tried to use this snippet and it is not working:

CODE

// javascript
<script language="javascript">
function loadFrames(page1,page2) {
eval("window.frames.Main.location='"+page1+"'");
eval("window.frames.banner.location='"+page2+"'");
}
</script>

// href:

<a href="java script:twoiframes('Main', 'pagename1.htm', 'banner', 'pagename2.htm')">Link</a>


Keep in mind, that this site has 3 'regular' frames, and the right frame contains the two 'iframes'. I want to target the iframes in the right 'regular' frame from the left frame. So, if someone can give me an example of what I need to do to make this work then i'd be very grateful.

thanks smile.gif


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 9 2009, 06:40 AM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You only have two placeholders in the function parenthesis but four items in the function call. Only the two first will be passed to the function ('Main', 'pagename1.htm'), the others will be ignored. You don't need eval and there are way to many quotes.

If you are making this totally dependent on JS you should let JS write out the link too, so people without JS don't have a dead link. At least don't use JavaScript URLs (href="javascript;...")

CODE
<script type="text/javascript">
function loadFrames(page1,page2)
{
   window.frames.Main.location=page1;
   window.frames.banner.location=page2;
}
</script>


HTML
<a href="" onclick="loadFrames('http://google.com','http://yahoo.com');return false">Link</a>


This is just for demonstration. If you have the link in plain HTML you should have something in the href for those that don't have JS on.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 9 2009, 01:55 PM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see the FAQ entry How do I update two frames at once? The FAQ talks about regular frames, but iframes are basically the same.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th April 2024 - 04:40 AM