The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to get rid of Firebug?
pandy
post Jul 11 2017, 06:36 PM
Post #1


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,624
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Since a few versions back Firebug opens as soon as I start FF. Is this a feature and can it be disabled? Or have I missed something? It used to be enough to close the thing. sad.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 12 2017, 05:03 AM
Post #2


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,385
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 11 2017, 06:36 PM) *

Since a few versions back Firebug opens as soon as I start FF. Is this a feature and can it be disabled? Or have I missed something? It used to be enough to close the thing. sad.gif
The only time that happened to me was the time I had checked 'On For All Web Pages' by mistake. That option should be available on the main Firebug menu.
To remove Firebug, since it is dead now anyway, click on 'Tools - Add-ons' then select 'Extensions'. Find the Firebug entry and click the 'Remove' button. (If you have added any Firebug add-ons, remove them first)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 12 2017, 05:42 AM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,624
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Thanks! I actually didn't find that option, but I found "Reset all firebug options" and that worked. Hadn't noticed that option before.

Happy again. smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 12 2017, 09:10 AM
Post #4


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,385
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 12 2017, 05:42 AM) *

Thanks! I actually didn't find that option, but I found "Reset all firebug options" and that worked. Hadn't noticed that option before.

Happy again. smile.gif
Glad it worked out for you. The main Firebug menu I was talking about is found on the FF toolbar (if not there then you can add it) not on any Firebug menu itself.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 12 2017, 09:13 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,624
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Oh, I looked in the wrong place. But I don't find that option in the FF menu either. Maybe it's gone. But then it's odd I had it as I did. Well, I don't use FF very often, so God knows what I've been clicking...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 12 2017, 10:25 PM
Post #6


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,385
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Well, the important thing is that you are happy again. Maybe the difference is because of versions? (Mine is 2.0.19)Attached Image

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Jul 12 2017, 10:35 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 13 2017, 07:46 AM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,624
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I have the same version. Strange, my menu doesn't look at all as yours (UI differences aside). This the one that comes closest. But it doesn't have that option...


Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 13 2017, 12:14 PM
Post #8


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,385
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I have that same menu but it is found in the Firebug program (1st menu item, looks like a bug). The menu I posted is found on the FF toolbar, again, it looks like a bug with a drop down arrow to the right. When I click on the arrow I get the menu I posted.

Anyway, since you are a happy camper you don't need to reply, if you don't want to.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 13 2017, 05:14 PM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,624
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I misunderstood twice then. I have the bug in the Tools > Web Developer menu and it shows exactly the same menu items as the menu in Firebug itself. wacko.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 13 2017, 05:49 PM
Post #10


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,385
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Tools > Web Developer is what replaces Firebug (there is an icon that looks like a wrench that can be used to launch the developer tools) and I too have the Firebug option listed there. But, that is not the same place as I was talking about.

What I call the Firefox toolbar is where the 'Home', 'Downloads' and maybe 'Print' icons and the address bar is found. If you don't have the Firebug icon showing then you might have removed it at some time?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 14 2017, 07:10 PM
Post #11


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,624
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Ah! Now I see it! I hadn't even noticed that little grey squiggly thing was a bug icon. Yes, at last I can see that option that must have been accidentally turned on. Thanks! smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 15 2017, 10:16 AM
Post #12


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,385
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Good to hear, all is right with the world now.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 09:40 PM