The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> add text hyperlink
TekEss
post Aug 28 2006, 01:19 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 26



Just found your forum, and really hope you good folk can help me.
Here is what I want to do, the following code is on my webpage

CODE
<table>

<tr>
    <td valign="top" align="justify"><div align="center">
        <p align="right"> <a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a><a href="http://www.myurl.com"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" width="441" height="251"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Books</font></a></div></td>
  </tr>
</table>



I would like to be able to put another text hyperlink to the right of the picture and above "BBQTalk Books", but it wont let me. Something in the center, maybe even a flashing text...anything.


Can someone please tell me how to do this ?


Thanks
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Aug 28 2006, 01:43 PM
Post #2


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



QUOTE(TekEss @ Aug 28 2006, 01:19 PM) *

CODE
<table>

<tr>
    <td valign="top" align="justify"><div align="center">
        <p align="right"> <a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a><a href="http://www.myurl.com"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" width="441" height="251"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Books</font></a></div></td>
  </tr>
</table>

I would like to be able to put another text hyperlink to the right of the picture and above "BBQTalk Books"

If you just want something above BBQTalk Books you can add it by putting it between "251"> and <font and use a line break <BR> so that it is on another line above BBQTalk. For example:
CODE
<table>
<tr>
    <td valign="top" align="justify"><div align="center">
        <p align="right"> <a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a><a href="http://www.myurl.com"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" width="441" height="251">Something goes here</br>
<font size="3">BBQTalk Books</font></a></div></td>
  </tr>
</table>

However, your HTML is very mangled and I would recommend replacing the entire thing with something like this:
CODE
<table cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2" border="0">
<tr>
    <td align="center"><a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a></td>
    <td align="center"><a href="http://www.myurl.com"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" alt="" width="441" height="251"></a></td>
    <td align="center">Something goes here<br><font size="3">BBQTalk Books</font></td>
</tr>
</table>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 28 2006, 01:48 PM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,701
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Isn't <font size="3"> the default size? In that case it becomes superfluous.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
TekEss
post Aug 28 2006, 01:53 PM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 26



I musy have done something wrong in the copy and paste. when i copied your code into front page to view it, it didnt work...when i copoed my original pasted code from this post, it didnt work either...must have lost some...
here is another try

CODE
<table width="717" height="231" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
  <tr>
    <td><div align="center"> <a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a><a href="index.php?sid=cfb255259614fe94444c45d749f71190"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" width="441" height="251">

        <a href="http://www.amazon.ca/exec/obidos/redirect?link_code=ur2&tag=bbqtalk0e-20&camp=15121&creative=330641&path=external-search%3Fsearch-type=ss%26index=books-ca%26keyword=grilling" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Books</font></a></div><font color="#0000FF">
<img src="http://www.assoc-amazon.ca/e/ir?t=bbqtalk0e-20&l=ur2&o=15" border="0" alt="" style="border:none !important; margin:0px !important;" /></font></td>
  </tr>
</table>



User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Aug 28 2006, 02:47 PM
Post #5


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



QUOTE(TekEss @ Aug 28 2006, 01:53 PM) *

I musy have done something wrong in the copy and paste. when i copied your code into front page to view it, it didnt work..

The problem with MS Frontpage is that it does not create valid HTML. I can't explain why pasting the code that I created into it did not work. My code is completely valid so it should work in Frontpage or anywhere else...

Even though this is HORRIBLE HTML, try replacing exactly what you just posted with the following:
CODE
<table width="717" height="231" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
  <tr>
    <td><div align="center"> <a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a><a href="index.php?sid=cfb255259614fe94444c45d749f71190"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" width="441" height="251">

        <a href="http://www.amazon.ca/exec/obidos/redirect?link_code=ur2&tag=bbqtalk0e-20&camp=15121&creative=330641&path=external-search%3Fsearch-type=ss%26index=books-ca%26keyword=grilling" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">PUT SOMETHING HERE<BR>BBQTalk
        Books</font></a></div><font color="#0000FF">
<img src="http://www.assoc-amazon.ca/e/ir?t=bbqtalk0e-20&l=ur2&o=15" border="0" alt="" style="border:none !important; margin:0px !important;" /></font></td>
  </tr>
</table>


Notice, the ONLY thing I did was add the following:
CODE
PUT SOMETHING HERE<BR>

before BBQTalk Books.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
TekEss
post Aug 28 2006, 02:59 PM
Post #6


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 26



Thanks for the help.

here is what your code produced
http://www.bbqtalk.ca/test.htm
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 28 2006, 03:16 PM
Post #7


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,701
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(TekEss @ Aug 28 2006, 08:53 PM) *

I musy have done something wrong in the copy and paste. when i copied your code into front page to view it, it didnt work...when i copoed my original pasted code from this post, it didnt work either...must have lost some...
here is another try


You removed the <p align="right"> ... </p> part.

But I recommend you use a 3-column table instead.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Aug 28 2006, 03:33 PM
Post #8


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



QUOTE(Christian J @ Aug 28 2006, 03:16 PM) *

But I recommend you use a 3-column table instead.

That is the code I previously provided. But Frontpage apparantly screwed it up.

John
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Aug 28 2006, 03:46 PM
Post #9


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



QUOTE(TekEss @ Aug 28 2006, 02:59 PM) *

here is what your code produced
http://www.bbqtalk.ca/test.htm

In your Web browser, when you are looking at the page, if you use the VIEW -> SOURCE drop down menu you can see the raw code coming from the server. In this case, you'll see:
CODE
<table>

<tr>
    <td><div align="center"> <a href="http://www.cafepress.com/bbqtalk" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3">BBQTalk
        Store</font></a><a href="index.php?sid=cfb255259614fe94444c45d749f71190"><img border="0" src="templates/NoseBleed/images/bbqtalk.jpg" width="441" height="251">

        </a>

        <a
href="http://www.amazon.ca/exec/obidos/redirect?link_code=ur2&tag=bbqtalk0e-20&camp=15121&creative=330641&path=external-search%3Fsearch-type=ss%26index=books-ca%26keyword=grilling" TARGET="_blank"><font size="3"> PUT SOMETHING HERE<BR>BBQTalk
        Books</font></a></div><font color="#0000FF">
<img src="http://www.assoc-amazon.ca/e/ir?t=bbqtalk0e-20&l=ur2&o=15" border="0" alt="" style="border:none !important; margin:0px !important;" /></font></td>
  </tr>


This differs from the code that I previously posted in that there is an extra </a> and the </table> is missing from the end. I'm not sure why Frontpage is modifying things when you paste them back in there. I have never used that program to create a page. Sorry.

If you try uploading the attached test page to your server you will see that it works perfectly, and unlike the Frontpage code it is valid.Attached File  test.html ( 608bytes ) Number of downloads: 1175
I wish I could offer more assitance, but the problem here is with the program you are using to edit your HTML, not with the code.

My strong preference is to write my code by hand, but if you need to use a WYSIWYG editor, I would recommend switching to Amaya.

John
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 07:43 AM