The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> ssh
tudsy
post Oct 28 2014, 05:56 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



Hi

Just a little problem.

When I type :

ssh ip-address

it prompts me for a password.

The problem is that i do not know the password.


can you please help me?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Oct 29 2014, 02:31 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,257
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
can you please help me?
Have you tried contacting the admin to get your password reset?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Oct 29 2014, 04:24 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



Hi

Thanks for that. I am the admin. Just one
Question, how do you reset the password?


Thanks
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Oct 29 2014, 05:29 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



Hi

I forgot to mention that I am using linux and Ubuntu .
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Oct 29 2014, 09:06 AM
Post #5


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Try searching for "reset password ssh" or similar.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
imort
post Jun 18 2016, 07:41 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-June 16
Member No.: 24,338



QUOTE(tudsy @ Oct 28 2014, 04:56 PM) *

When I type :
ssh ip-address
it prompts me for a password.


Hey
What kind of system is installed on that IP address computer? Is it your local computer or remote server?
You need some kind of access to the system to reset user password and allow login
Did you have logged in to that computer before?

Maybe that SSH server was configured to use key-based authentication before, so you need to provide the private key to login without the password?
Do you have any local access to the server? You can look there to configure SSH as you need to.

Take a look here for more info about SSH and key-based authentication by the way.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 10:27 PM