The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> All gone wrong.
bigginge
post May 14 2015, 04:46 AM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-January 12
Member No.: 16,315



I thought I was getting the hang of this stuff, html & css, but apparently not. I've done a site for a couple of friends which looks fine on my computer screen but when I view it on my android phone, and my son's iPhone, everything's all over the place.
The first page of the site is at http://www.mbgroundworks.co.uk/test/ I can't figure out why the bottom block of text is larger than the main body of text when they're both the same class, i.e. 'bodytxt' Then when viewed in portrait the lower text runs around the main text.
The css is:
[/code]
ul {
list-style-type: none;
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
overflow: hidden;
}

li {
float: left;
}

a:link, a:visited {
display: block;
width: 232px;
font-weight: bold;
color: #000000;
background-color: #CCCCCC;
text-align: center;
padding: 4px;
text-decoration: none;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}

a:hover, a:active {
background-color: #FF0000;
color: #FFFFFF;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}

#active a
{
display: block;
width: 232px;
font-weight: bold;
color: #FFFFFF;
background-color: #FF0000;
text-align: center;
padding: 4px;
text-decoration: none;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}



#maintxt {
width: 500px;
margin-top: 30px;
margin-left: 50px;
float: left;
}
body {
height:100%;
margin-left: 0px;
margin-top: 0px;
margin-right: 0px;
margin-bottom: 0px;
background-image: url(images/bg.jpg);
background-repeat: repeat-x;

}
#redline {
background-color: #F00;
height: 6px;
width: 100%;
}
#navbar {
background-color: #F00;
height: 28px;
width: 960px;
margin-top: 120px;
}
#container {
width: 960px;
background-color: #FFF;
margin-top: 20px;
margin-right: auto;
margin-left: auto;
border: thin solid #F00;
min-height:100%;

}
#logo {
float: left;
height: 100px;
width: 180px;
margin: 10px;
z-index: 20;
position: relative;
}
#italtxt {
float: right;
height: 30px;
width: 500px;
margin-top: 80px;
margin-left: auto;
margin-right: 20px;
position: relative;
font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif;
font-size: 30px;
font-style: italic;
text-align: right;
}
.italhead {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 24px;
font-style: normal;
color: #000;
text-align: left;
z-index: 10;
}
#topbg {
background-color: #FFF;
height: 120px;
width: 960px;
z-index: 0;
position: absolute;
background-image: url(images/blueprint.jpg);

}
#introtxt {
font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif;
font-size: 24px;
font-style: italic;
font-weight: bold;
color: #000;
text-align: left;
}
.bodytxt {
font-weight: normal;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 14px;
text-align: left;
}

#footer {
height: 40px;
width: 960px;
margin-top: 40px;
background-color: #F00;

}
.foottxt {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 14px;
font-style: normal;
font-weight: normal;
color: #FFF;
text-align: center;
line-height: 40px;


}
.galltxt {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 14px;
font-style: normal;
font-weight: bold;
color: #000;
text-align: center;
}
.quotetxt {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 14px;
font-style: italic;
font-weight: normal;
color: #000;
line-height: 18px;
text-align: left;
}
[/code]

Very grateful for any help you can give.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 14 2015, 08:31 AM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Have you changed something? Looks the same on my Android as on my PC.

Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
bigginge
post May 14 2015, 09:57 AM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-January 12
Member No.: 16,315



QUOTE(pandy @ May 14 2015, 02:31 PM) *

Have you changed something? Looks the same on my Android as on my PC.

Attached Image


That's odd, it looks like this on mine:
IPB Image

I'm at a loss now!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 14 2015, 02:09 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Strange. Afraid I don't know much about mobile browsers and versions of Android or mobile in general. I use the default browser, the icon just says "Internet". I'm on Android 4.3 it says.

I think Frederiek is a little into this. She'll be around sooner or later.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
bigginge
post May 14 2015, 02:23 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-January 12
Member No.: 16,315



QUOTE(pandy @ May 14 2015, 08:09 PM) *

Strange. Afraid I don't know much about mobile browsers and versions of Android or mobile in general. I use the default browser, the icon just says "Internet". I'm on Android 4.3 it says.

I think Frederiek is a little into this. She'll be around sooner or later.

Thanks anyway. Baby sitting grandchildren now, looks fine on their Ipad.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 14 2015, 03:28 PM
Post #6


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,656
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I've also seen strange quirks in various mobile browsers, but it could also be due to any of these validator errors: http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%...ine&group=0
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 14 2015, 03:30 PM
Post #7


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,656
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ May 14 2015, 09:09 PM) *

I use the default browser, the icon just says "Internet".

I think it's Chromium-based (or something related).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 14 2015, 03:51 PM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Sure? Odd since they've installed Chrome too.

Yeah, fixing errors is always the starting point.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 14 2015, 04:31 PM
Post #9


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,656
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ May 14 2015, 10:51 PM) *

Sure? Odd since they've installed Chrome too.

According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_Browser it's Blink-based.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post May 14 2015, 04:45 PM
Post #10


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I wouldn't know why I'd be more into this kind of thing. I actually don't test any given URLs here on mobile devices, just in Safari on desktop, using a Responsive design bookmarklet ( http://www.benjaminkeen.com/open-source-pr...gn-bookmarklet/ ).

The OP's URL doesn't shrink at most sizes, as nothing seems to have been done for smaller devices. It only works on desktop and on a 1024 x 768 (tablet - landscape).

Besides fixing the errors, I'd use media-queries. See http://www.d.umn.edu/itss/training/online/...ign/css.html#mq .

The bigger font-size for the last paragraph in the screenshot seems weird to me, though.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post May 14 2015, 04:54 PM
Post #11


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



With the unterminated comment that starts on line 8, a lot depends on how any given browser recovers from that unterminated comment. I wouldn't be surprised to find a browser that displays a blank page.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 14 2015, 05:21 PM
Post #12


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



If there is a broken comment, that's probably it.

Frederiek, I've just got that impression. You often answer mobile questions.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post May 15 2015, 03:25 AM
Post #13


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Nah, I then mostly post the media query link.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
bigginge
post May 17 2015, 03:46 AM
Post #14


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-January 12
Member No.: 16,315



Thanks to you all for your comments and taking the time to reply. I've tried one or two things with no luck, even created a new class for the type at the bottom, it was still showing up large.
Today I shall mow the lawn then sit down and read up on Media Queries then tomorrow I'll start from scratch, with the same design and hope to get a better result.
I may be back.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 18 2015, 12:41 PM
Post #15


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,656
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(Christian J @ May 14 2015, 11:31 PM) *

QUOTE(pandy @ May 14 2015, 10:51 PM) *

Sure? Odd since they've installed Chrome too.

According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_Browser it's Blink-based.

Seems it's an epidemic: http://www.quirksmode.org/blog/archives/20...e_continue.html blink.gif


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 18 2015, 04:55 PM
Post #16


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I can't keep track of all browsers and their versions anymore. I miss the days of IE4 and Netscape. sad.gif

And what happened with IPB Image? Use a browser that's a fraction of a version old and you have to put up with broken pages.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
bigginge
post May 19 2015, 03:31 AM
Post #17


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-January 12
Member No.: 16,315



I put the site together again from scratch, adding a couple of things suggested but also simplifying it - e.g. one column of text - and sent a link to the clients. They're really happy with it, going to send pics and text to replace borrowed pics and idiot text, so thanks again for all your help.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post May 19 2015, 08:11 AM
Post #18


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Now you only should validate your HTML and CSS and fix the few errors found.

- http://validator.w3.org
- http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/

Use the simple HTML5 meta tag for the charset:
<meta charset="utf-8">
See http://html5doctor.com/element-index/#meta and the included snippet.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2024 - 09:21 PM