The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Error
tudsy
post Aug 19 2017, 12:35 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



Hi

With this query string, I get the error:


[19-Aug-2017 05:13:26 UTC] PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php on line 135
[19-Aug-2017 05:17:15 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: username in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php on line 187
[19-Aug-2017 05:17:15 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: email in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php on line 187

When I load ecovib2d1.php, load the graphic and hover over the buy button, I get a 'NaNNaN.........' type of output on the status bar.


I do not know what is happening?

I think I have defined username and email correctly in the query string?



document.getElementById('form').action="http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=" + <?php echo $_GET['username'];?> + "&email=" + <?php echo $_GET['email'];?> + "&Person=" + personname + "&Price=" + Priceofart + "&Graphic=" + picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');


Thanks.


Attached File(s)
Attached File  processmidpage.php ( 3.82k ) Number of downloads: 15
Attached File  ecovib2d1.php ( 10.02k ) Number of downloads: 15
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 19 2017, 06:50 PM
Post #2


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



According to your code, in 'ecovib2d1.php' line 187, you should have 'username' and 'email' in the query string. I suspect that when 'ecovib2d1.php' loads there is no query string for the page. That is the reason for the 2 undefined index errors. If 'ecovib2d1.php' does have the query string then I would need to see the code for the page that loads it.

In 'processmidpage.php' this section of code is totally wrong:
CODE
<?php

$name=<?php echo $_GET['username']?>;
$email=<?php echo $_GET['email'] ?>;
$graph=<?php echo $_GET['Graphic']?>;
$Priceof=<?php echo $_GET['Price']?>;
$pers=<?php echo $_GET['Person']?>;
?>
It should be:
CODE
<?php

$name=$_GET['username'];
$email=$_GET['email'];
$graph=$_GET['Graphic'];
$Priceof=$_GET['Price'];
$pers=$_GET['Person'];
?>
And that is the reason for the parse error. You can't use, and don't need to use, PHP tags inside another PHP tag.

Also, on line 112 I see this line of code:
CODE
<script type='text/javascript' src='//translate.google.com/translate_a/element.js?cb=googleTranslateElementInit'></script>
You might want to check the 'src' value to be sure it is correct.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Aug 19 2017, 07:05 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 20 2017, 12:15 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 20 2017, 09:20 AM) *

According to your code, in 'ecovib2d1.php' line 187, you should have 'username' and 'email' in the query string. I suspect that when 'ecovib2d1.php' loads there is no query string for the page. That is the reason for the 2 undefined index errors. If 'ecovib2d1.php' does have the query string then I would need to see the code for the page that loads it.

In 'processmidpage.php' this section of code is totally wrong:
CODE
<?php

$name=<?php echo $_GET['username']?>;
$email=<?php echo $_GET['email'] ?>;
$graph=<?php echo $_GET['Graphic']?>;
$Priceof=<?php echo $_GET['Price']?>;
$pers=<?php echo $_GET['Person']?>;
?>
It should be:
CODE
<?php

$name=$_GET['username'];
$email=$_GET['email'];
$graph=$_GET['Graphic'];
$Priceof=$_GET['Price'];
$pers=$_GET['Person'];
?>
And that is the reason for the parse error. You can't use, and don't need to use, PHP tags inside another PHP tag.

Also, on line 112 I see this line of code:
CODE
<script type='text/javascript' src='//translate.google.com/translate_a/element.js?cb=googleTranslateElementInit'></script>
You might want to check the 'src' value to be sure it is correct.



Hi

Thanks for that.

I have just on question. What do you mean 'username' and 'email' must be inside the query string?

Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 20 2017, 05:39 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(tudsy @ Aug 20 2017, 02:45 PM) *

QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 20 2017, 09:20 AM) *

According to your code, in 'ecovib2d1.php' line 187, you should have 'username' and 'email' in the query string. I suspect that when 'ecovib2d1.php' loads there is no query string for the page. That is the reason for the 2 undefined index errors. If 'ecovib2d1.php' does have the query string then I would need to see the code for the page that loads it.

In 'processmidpage.php' this section of code is totally wrong:
CODE
<?php

$name=<?php echo $_GET['username']?>;
$email=<?php echo $_GET['email'] ?>;
$graph=<?php echo $_GET['Graphic']?>;
$Priceof=<?php echo $_GET['Price']?>;
$pers=<?php echo $_GET['Person']?>;
?>
It should be:
CODE
<?php

$name=$_GET['username'];
$email=$_GET['email'];
$graph=$_GET['Graphic'];
$Priceof=$_GET['Price'];
$pers=$_GET['Person'];
?>
And that is the reason for the parse error. You can't use, and don't need to use, PHP tags inside another PHP tag.

Also, on line 112 I see this line of code:
CODE
<script type='text/javascript' src='//translate.google.com/translate_a/element.js?cb=googleTranslateElementInit'></script>
You might want to check the 'src' value to be sure it is correct.



Hi

Thanks for that.

I have just on question. What do you mean 'username' and 'email' must be inside the query string?

Thanks.



Hi

Do you mean:

document.getElementById('form').action='http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=' + username + '&email=' + email + '&Person=' + personname + '&Price=' + Priceofart + '&Graphic=' + picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 20 2017, 09:49 AM
Post #5


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(tudsy @ Aug 20 2017, 05:39 AM) *

QUOTE(tudsy @ Aug 20 2017, 02:45 PM) *

I have just on question. What do you mean 'username' and 'email' must be inside the query string?
Do you mean:

document.getElementById('form').action='http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=' + username + '&email=' + email + '&Person=' + personname + '&Price=' + Priceofart + '&Graphic=' + picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');
Yes and No, that is line 187 in 'ecovib2d1.php', but your version is different than the one found in the file you uploaded. This is line 187 according to my 'ecovib2d1.php':
CODE
document.getElementById('form').action='http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=' + <?php echo $_GET['username']?> + '&email=' + <?php echo $_GET['email']?> + '&Person=' + personname + '&Price=' + Priceofart + '&Graphic='+ picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');
Here you use PHP $_GET to retrieve 2 query string values, username and email. This means 'ecovib2d1.php' needs the 2 query string values in the URL.

Your new version uses only JS variables instead.

Why would you attach files that don't match with your current code?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 20 2017, 04:30 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 21 2017, 12:19 AM) *

QUOTE(tudsy @ Aug 20 2017, 05:39 AM) *

QUOTE(tudsy @ Aug 20 2017, 02:45 PM) *

I have just on question. What do you mean 'username' and 'email' must be inside the query string?
Do you mean:

document.getElementById('form').action='http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=' + username + '&email=' + email + '&Person=' + personname + '&Price=' + Priceofart + '&Graphic=' + picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');
Yes and No, that is line 187 in 'ecovib2d1.php', but your version is different than the one found in the file you uploaded. This is line 187 according to my 'ecovib2d1.php':
CODE
document.getElementById('form').action='http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=' + <?php echo $_GET['username']?> + '&email=' + <?php echo $_GET['email']?> + '&Person=' + personname + '&Price=' + Priceofart + '&Graphic='+ picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');
Here you use PHP $_GET to retrieve 2 query string values, username and email. This means 'ecovib2d1.php' needs the 2 query string values in the URL.

Your new version uses only JS variables instead.

Why would you attach files that don't match with your current code?






Thanks for that. Just an oversight.

When I go through the process, the URL for processmidpage.php shows a truncated query string.

I have reinstated the original code.

Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 20 2017, 09:01 PM
Post #7


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Well, can't you post the URL so I can see how it looks? Also, post new files (the 2 posted before). I want to make sure I'm working with the version as you.

I didn't go over every line of code, I only looked until I found the reason for the error/warning messages you posted in your 1st post. There still could be more errors.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 20 2017, 10:40 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 21 2017, 11:31 AM) *

Well, can't you post the URL so I can see how it looks? Also, post new files (the 2 posted before). I want to make sure I'm working with the version as you.

I didn't go over every line of code, I only looked until I found the reason for the error/warning messages you posted in your 1st post. There still could be more errors.




Hi

Thanks for that.


I have attached the latest versions of the 2 files.

Thanks


Attached File(s)
Attached File  processmidpage.php ( 3.74k ) Number of downloads: 13
Attached File  ecovib2d1.php ( 9.97k ) Number of downloads: 14
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 20 2017, 10:48 PM
Post #9


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



You didn't post any URL's. Please post the 'ecovib2d1.php' URL and also post the 'processmidpage.php' URL. I need to see the URL of both pages after they are loaded.

And post any error/warning messages you still get.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Aug 20 2017, 10:56 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 20 2017, 11:23 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 21 2017, 01:18 PM) *

You didn't post any URL's. Please post the 'ecovib2d1.php' URL and also post the 'processmidpage.php' URL. I need to see the URL of both pages after they are loaded.

And post any error/warning messages you still get.




http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/...T/ecovib2d1.php - when ecovib2d1.php is first loaded.



username entered: Adrian Tudini
email entered: stg@gmail.com



http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/...stg%40gmail.com


[21-Aug-2017 04:20:03 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: username in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php on line 187
[21-Aug-2017 04:20:03 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: email in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php on line 187
[21-Aug-2017 04:21:39 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: Graphic in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php on line 31
[21-Aug-2017 04:21:39 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: Price in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php on line 33
[21-Aug-2017 04:21:39 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: Graphic in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php on line 137
[21-Aug-2017 04:21:39 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: Price in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php on line 138
[21-Aug-2017 04:21:39 UTC] PHP Notice: Undefined index: Person in /home/ecovibdc/public_html/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php on line 139
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 20 2017, 11:38 PM
Post #11


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I can't see the entire URL of this:
http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/...stg%40gmail.com
Which looks like it might be the URL for 'processmidpage.php'.

Is that how your browser shows the URL? Those '...' in the URL are hiding info I need to see. Or are you using the built-in browser in some editor? I need to see the complete URL. Use a real browser.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Aug 20 2017, 11:41 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 21 2017, 02:21 AM
Post #12


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,670
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



But it is complete? It's just the forum software that shortens the link text. Look at the status bar (if you are lucky enough to still have one...) or copy the URL.

CODE
http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php

http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=Adrian+Tudini&email=stg%40gmail.com
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 21 2017, 02:10 PM
Post #13


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Based on pandy's post (you should have used code blocks for the URL's) I can confirm my idea. But your logic/code is confusing. Take 'ecovib2d1.php', line 187 for example:
CODE
document.getElementById('form').action='processmidpage.php?username=' + <?php echo $_GET['username']?> + '&email=' + <?php echo $_GET['email']?> + '&Person=' + personname + '&Price=' + Priceofart + '&Graphic='+ picname.replace('w.bmp','.bmp');
Based on the URL there are no query string values for 'username' and 'email'. Therefore, PHP has nothing to do with it.

Questions, where do the values for 'username' and 'email' come from? Are they supposed to be the values from your <form>? Based on your previous post I 'assume' the values should come from the <form>.

That means you are trying to set the 'action' attribute of the <form> before the values are filled in. Also, that explains why the 'processmidpage.php' URL only shows 'username' and 'email' query string values (and they are URL encoded, so you have to unencode them before using).

My suggestion is that you delete/remove line 187 completely. In your <form> put 'processmidpage.php' in the 'action' attribute. Also, inside the <form>...</form> tags place hidden inputs for any other values you want passed to 'processmidpage.php'.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 21 2017, 02:13 PM
Post #14


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 21 2017, 02:21 AM) *

But it is complete? It's just the forum software that shortens the link text. Look at the status bar (if you are lucky enough to still have one...) or copy the URL.

CODE
http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php

http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=Adrian+Tudini&email=stg%40gmail.com


Thanks pandy, I keep forgetting that the forum software plays tricks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 22 2017, 07:44 AM
Post #15


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 22 2017, 04:43 AM) *

QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 21 2017, 02:21 AM) *

But it is complete? It's just the forum software that shortens the link text. Look at the status bar (if you are lucky enough to still have one...) or copy the URL.

CODE
http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/ecovib2d1.php

http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?username=Adrian+Tudini&email=stg%40gmail.com


Thanks pandy, I keep forgetting that the forum software plays tricks.



Hi

Thanks all.

Another question: How do you handle spaces in URLs?


I.e. http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/...ib2d%40live.com

Space where the + sign is.

Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 22 2017, 10:41 AM
Post #16


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I already gave you a hint. I said that the URL was encoded and that you would need to decode them before using. For Javascript look at 'decodeURIComponent'.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 22 2017, 10:49 PM
Post #17


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Oh, sorry I forgot. You want to decode in PHP for use with $_GET. Look into the PHP command 'urldecode'.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tudsy
post Aug 23 2017, 06:16 AM
Post #18


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 30-September 14
Member No.: 21,611



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 23 2017, 01:19 PM) *

Oh, sorry I forgot. You want to decode in PHP for use with $_GET. Look into the PHP command 'urldecode'.




From the manual:

Warning
The superglobals $_GET and $_REQUEST are already decoded. Using urldecode() on an element in $_GET or $_REQUEST could have unexpected and dangerous results.







Hi

Thanks for that.

I have created a function in ecovib2d1.php called dec() and it removes the ' ' in the url (username component) and it replaces it with a '%20'.

<script>

function dec(){


var url = 'http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?Person=personname&Price=priceofart&Graphic=picname&username=';
var url1 = <?php echo $_GET['username'] ?> ; // has a space between the first name and last name

var url2 = '&email=' + <?php echo $_GET['email'] ?> ;

document.getElementById('form').action = url + url1.replace(' ','%20') + url2;

};
</script>


with the corresponding form as follows:


<center>

<form id='form' action='processmidpage.php' onsubmit='dec();' method="GET"/>






<input type='hidden' id='person' name='Person'/>
<input type='hidden' id='Cost' name='Price' />
<input type='hidden' id='pic' name='Graphic'/>




<p align='center' id='freename'>Enter Full Name:</p>

<p align='center'><input id='Nameofperson' maxlength='50' name='username' size='50' type='text' /></p>

<p align='center' id='freeaddress'>Enter Email-Address:</p>

<p align='center'><input id='e-address' maxlength='50' name='email' size='50' type='text' /></p>
<input type='submit' id="Buy" value='Buy Now'/>

</form>

</center>



Also the javascript code for the hidden input tags(inside function picname() in ecovib2d1.php):

document.getElementById('person').value = personname;
document.getElementById('Cost').value = Priceofart;
document.getElementById('pic').value = picname;

A question is what gets executed first the action attribute or the onsubmit button?

Maybe we have to split the username into two: first name and last name?

Thanks.

This post has been edited by tudsy: Aug 23 2017, 06:19 AM


Attached File(s)
Attached File  processmidpage__1_.php ( 3.41k ) Number of downloads: 12
Attached File  ecovib2d1__1_.php ( 10.49k ) Number of downloads: 13
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 23 2017, 10:36 AM
Post #19


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,425
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I don't use $_GET very often. I didn't know $_GET would unencode query string values.

You seem to have missed the point of my suggestion. Seems you did remove line 187 but you replaced it with this:
CODE
            function dec(){
            var url = 'http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?Person=personname&Price=priceofart&Graphic=picname&username=';
            var url1 = <?php  echo $_GET['username'] ?>;
            alert(url1);
            var url2 = '&email=' + <?php echo $_GET['email'] ?>;
            document.getElementById('form').action = url + url1.replace('+','%20') + url2;
Using PHP here is wrong. PHP is only active when the page is loading. When the page loads there is no query string values for 'username' and 'email'. And, you can't use $_GET to retrieve values that haven't been entered yet. Forget about building the query string yourself. PHP will do that for you when the form is submitted.

This is your current form:
CODE
            <form  id='form' action='processmidpage.php'  onsubmit='dec();'  method="GET"/>
            <input type='hidden' id='person' name='Person'/>
            <input type='hidden' id='Cost' name='Price' />
            <input type='hidden' id='pic' name='Graphic'/>
              
                        <p align='center' id='freename'>Enter Full Name:</p>

            <p align='center'><input id='Nameofperson' maxlength='50' name='username' size='50' type='text' /></p>

            <p align='center' id='freeaddress'>Enter Email-Address:</p>

            <p align='center'><input id='e-address' maxlength='50' name='email' size='50' type='text' /></p>
            <input type='submit' id="Buy" value='Buy Now'/>
            
            </form>
Any Javascript that affects 'Person', 'Price' or 'Graphic' values will have to be changed to use these inputs. Remove the function dec(), you don't need it. Be sure to remove the 'onsubmit' event from the form. After you make these changes and load the page again, all you need to do is fill in the username and email then click the submit button.

When 'processmidpage.php' loads it will have a query string like this:
CODE
http://103.226.223.161/~ecovibdc/ECOVIB2D/MYART/processmidpage.php?Person=value&Price=value&Graphic=value&username=value&email=value
PHP will build the query string for you, based on the fields in between the <form>...</form> tags.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Aug 23 2017, 10:42 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2017 - 11:47 PM