The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> help with form, can form use extension .php instead of .pl or perl?
Siten0308
post Nov 6 2006, 10:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-November 06
Member No.: 682



well just as stated, when you use to action=get method etc etc, what i always see in many form examples is .pl never .php, is it recommended to always use .pl or can I use .php when using form? when I use form, i use form for a website that is getting information from a user typing in a text field and emailing it to me at my email address.

thank you
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Siten0308
post Nov 6 2006, 10:59 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-November 06
Member No.: 682



Here is the html coding below, for some reason its not working, I am probably doing something wrong, its supposed to be a simple html form mail thing... any input I would be most grateful.



<html>
<title>APPLY NOW</title>
<head>
employment
<body
<FORM METHOD=POST ACTION="C:\Documents and Settings\steven\My Documents\html\formmail\formmail.pl">
<input type="hidden" name="recipient" value="steven@rrmca.com">
<input type="hidden" name="title" value="some dude">
<input type="hidden" name="subject" value="some dude">
<input type="hidden" name="redirect" value="http://www.worldofwarcraft.com">
<input type="hidden" name="required" value="date,name,address">

<br>
First name:
<input type="text" name="firstname">
<br>
Last name:
<input type="text" name="lastname">
<br>
address:
<input type="text" name="address">

<p><font size="3"><input type="submit" value="Submit Resume" tabindex="60"> <input type="reset" value="Clear" tabindex="61"> </font></p>

</body>

</html>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Nov 6 2006, 01:26 PM
Post #3


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,298
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



QUOTE(Siten0308 @ Nov 7 2006, 12:59 AM) *

Here is the html coding below, for some reason its not working, I am probably doing something wrong, its supposed to be a simple html form mail thing... any input I would be most grateful.



<html>
<title>APPLY NOW</title>
<head>
employment
<body
<FORM METHOD=POST ACTION="C:\Documents and Settings\steven\My Documents\html\formmail\formmail.pl">

<snip>


The "Action" of a form is the Web address the browser must access to carry out whatever the form does. Your "Action" is a file on your hard disk. Nobody else has access to your hard disk, so obviously it won't work. You need to put the script (formmail.pl, or whatever) on your server.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Siten0308
post Nov 6 2006, 01:30 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-November 06
Member No.: 682



also for the formmail.pl. can I use a formmail.php instead?? will formmail work with php?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 6 2006, 02:18 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,986
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's supposed to be the URL to a physical script on a server. If that script is written in Perl, PHP, Python or whatever matters not. The value of action must reflect the true URL and the true name of the script, that is the script must exist and do what it's supposed to do. You can't just invent it. smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2018 - 11:45 PM