The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Strange menu problem, One menu item appears in bold only on one page
arachnocat
post Feb 9 2011, 12:22 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 13,821



I have inserted a new menu item on this page called "Movie".
It looks fine on every page, except on the actual movie page, the text is bold! I can't locate what part of the code is making the word "movie" bold in the menu.
The menu is an include and should be showing up exactly the same on every page. Any ideas?

Movie link on menu should look like this:
http://ledsonharmonyfoundation.com/

Movie link on menu is BOLD on the movie page....
http://ledsonharmonyfoundation.com/movie-gallery/index.asp
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Feb 9 2011, 12:40 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I don't see any difference between the "Movie" links. But I did find the automatic background sound annoying.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
arachnocat
post Feb 9 2011, 12:50 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 13,821



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Feb 9 2011, 12:40 PM) *

I don't see any difference between the "Movie" links. But I did find the automatic background sound annoying.


It should look like this:
IPB Image

But on the movie page it looks like this:
IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Feb 9 2011, 03:52 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE(arachnocat @ Feb 9 2011, 09:50 AM) *
QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Feb 9 2011, 12:40 PM) *
I don't see any difference between the "Movie" links. But I did find the automatic background sound annoying.
It should look like this:
IPB Image

But on the movie page it looks like this:
IPB Image
Again, I don't see any difference. I tried all 4 of my browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera; all on Mac).
Attached Image
Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
arachnocat
post Feb 9 2011, 05:12 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 13,821



Maybe it's a PC issue then. It's showing up on IE and Firefox for me on PC.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 9 2011, 06:00 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Don't see how it could be OS related? I see it too, in every browser I tried.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 9 2011, 06:05 PM
Post #7


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Geez, strange is the word. I just noticed that when I clicked the link above to the gallery page "Movie" wasn't bold. But when I click a link to it on your site, it is. The difference is the www sub in the url. You don't have those URLs leading to different pages, I suppose? blink.gif

Not bold
http://ledsonharmonyfoundation.com/movie-gallery/index.asp
Bold
http://www.ledsonharmonyfoundation.com/mov...llery/index.asp
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
arachnocat
post Feb 9 2011, 07:08 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 13,821



QUOTE(pandy @ Feb 9 2011, 06:05 PM) *

Geez, strange is the word. I just noticed that when I clicked the link to the gallery page "Movie" wasn't bold. But when I click a link to it on your site, it is. The difference is the www sub in the url. You don't have those URLs leading to different pages, I suppose? blink.gif

Not bold
http://ledsonharmonyfoundation.com/movie-gallery/index.asp
Bold
http://www.ledsonharmonyfoundation.com/mov...llery/index.asp


Wow! That is pretty crazy. Thanks for noticing that. I totally thought that would fix the problem.
I tried changing the include navigation to have www and also without the www and everytime I upload it's the same, with the bold movie. I even tried calling it something else "movie.asp" instead.
And yet, if I delete the www in my browser address (or add it if I removed it in the include) it looks FINE!
There must be a solution though...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Feb 9 2011, 07:13 PM
Post #9


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Interesting. It also seems related to the JavaScript. I don't see the effect until I temporarily whitelist the site.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 9 2011, 07:29 PM
Post #10


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I notice the body tags have IDs. Could there be attempt to style the link to the current page differently, but it only works in one case? Don't see how the www sub fits in this theory, but what the heck! biggrin.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 9 2011, 07:34 PM
Post #11


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



What have you done now? Now it's the other way around, it's bold without the www. biggrin.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Barthal
post Feb 10 2011, 03:38 AM
Post #12


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 22-November 10
Member No.: 13,209



It's javascript.

your movie page has
CODE
    // highlighting styles on clicks
    var $allLinks = $('a', '#movie-gallery-navigation')
    $allLinks.click(function(){
        $allLinks.removeClass('current_mark');
        $(this).addClass('current_mark');
    });
    // for intial highlighting to be visible, i suppose we should expand the first parent    

    showChildren($allChildren.eq(0));

which adds
CODE
.current_mark {
color:#830505 !important;
font-weight:bold;
}


Your other pages don't seem to have this script and style.


I'm no good wit javascript so I don't know why it doesn't work with www.

This post has been edited by Barthal: Feb 10 2011, 03:40 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
arachnocat
post Feb 10 2011, 12:04 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 13,821



Thank you!!! It works!!! Yay!!!!!!!
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th April 2024 - 02:26 AM