The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Video does not dispaly
genefalk
post Jan 27 2015, 08:38 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 27-January 15
Member No.: 22,100



I want to put a .flv video on my web site so I copied this code from somewhere but the video does not display.

Where is wrong?

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>
This is the video. <p>

<object classid ="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000"
codebase ="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0"
width ="400"
height ="300"
id ="flashvideoplayer.swf"
align ="middle">

<param name ="allowScriptAccess"
value ="sameDomain">

<param name ="movie"
value ="http://www.mywebsite.com/flashvideoplayer.swf?flv = http://www.mywebsite.com/dark.flv">

<param name ="quality"
value ="high">

<param name ="bgcolor"
value ="#ffffff">

<embed src="http://www.mywebsite.com/flashvideoplayer.swf?flv=http://www.mywebsite.com/dark.flv"
quality ="high"
bgcolor ="#ffffff"
width ="400"
height ="300"
name ="flashvideoplayer.swf"
align ="middle"
allowScriptAccess ="sameDomain"
type ="application/x-shockwave-flash"
pluginspage ="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer">
</object>

</body>
</html>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jan 27 2015, 05:24 PM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



First of all, I had never heard of .flv file being able to play online, just .swf. But apparently, it can work. So, I wonder where you got that code from. Can you post the url to that?


This post has been edited by Frederiek: Jan 27 2015, 05:24 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 27 2015, 06:28 PM
Post #3


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I didn't know that either. I thought .flv was the master file, the one that can be edited, and that you had to create a .swf from that.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jan 28 2015, 05:12 AM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Yeah, me too. But I searched a little bit and found out that somehow it seems possible. I didn't really look into it, as I don't do Flash.

But, I wonder about the URLs in the snippet for the file. The domain name results elsewhere.

Besides, Flash has since 2005 been taken over by Adobe. So, even the Macromedia URLs need to be updated. Oh wait, there's still a macromedia site, with the Adobe logo.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 12:48 PM