The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML + CSS = Firefox won't render my images as links, IE does, but firefox does not allow the menu links to be clicked.
deftrance
post Oct 9 2008, 09:15 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 6,858



Hi guys, this is my first post here and I'm a bit irked.

I'm working on this site for a friend of mine for the business she runs and I've run into a snag. I have the base for the page all designed and set up, but for some reason Firefox doesn't want to set up my menu images as links. IE does it just fine.

http://brian-jordan.com/bellas-bridal.com/index.html

Code from html file
CODE
<div class="menu">
    <a href="index.html"><img src="images/home.jpg" alt="Home" title="" /></a>
    <a href="dresses.html"><img src="images/dresses.jpg" alt="Dresses" title="" /></a>
    <a href="location.html"><img src="images/location.jpg" alt="Location" title="" /></a>
    <a href="contact.html"><img src="images/contact.jpg" alt="Contact Info" title="" /></a>
    <a href="events.html"><img src="images/events.jpg" alt="Upcoming Events" title="" /></a>
</div>


Code from CSS
CODE
body {
    background : #ffffcc;
    margin: 0px;
    padding: 0px;
    font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size:12px;
}

img {
border: 0px;
}

.banner {
    position: relative;
    margin:0px;
    padding:0px;
    border:0px;
    width:491px;
    display:block;
    left: 50%;
    margin-left: -245.5px;
}

.menu {
    position:relative;
    vertical-align: top;  
    margin:0px;
    padding:0px;
    border:0px;
    width:335px;  
    left: 50%;
    margin-left: -164px;
}

.menu img {
    vertical-align: top;  
    float: left;
    border:0px;
    padding:0px;
    margin:0px;
}

.menu p {
    margin:0;
}

.image-main {
    position: relative;
    margin:0px;
    padding:0px;
    border:0px;
    width:466px;
    display:block;
    left: 50%;
    margin-left: -233px;    
}

.container {
    position: relative;
    margin:5px;
    padding:5px;
    border:0px;
    width:800px;
    display:block;
    left: 50%;
    margin-left: -400px;    
}


The page does validate with W3C, by the way. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 9 2008, 09:52 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I haven't figured out what in your code makes this happen, but .image-main is positioned on top of the menu. FF won't let you get away with that. It won't let you click links if something is positioned on top of them, even if the positioned box is transparent.

Give .image-main a background color and you will be able to see this. Now to figure out *why*... unsure.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
deftrance
post Oct 9 2008, 09:55 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 6,858



Appreciate the reply; Yeah, I'm boggled currently myself, been trying to figure that out.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Oct 9 2008, 09:58 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Well, if all the images have been floated, then there's nothing left in div.menu and it collapses. The next element is div.image-main, which is positioned relative to where it would appear normally.

But I don't see anything that should require positioning at all.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
deftrance
post Oct 9 2008, 10:01 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 6,858



Well, as a work around, I was able to get the link working by using z-index on img-main as well as menu, so it seems to be working for now. We'll see how it rolls.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 9 2008, 10:02 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



There's a gap in image-main, above the image. It's the gap that covers the menu. The usual fixes don't work.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 9 2008, 10:06 PM
Post #7


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Now it works in FF. What did you do?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
deftrance
post Oct 9 2008, 10:25 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 6,858



I added a z-index property to the menu and to the main-image tags in the css source
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2024 - 10:49 PM