The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bing thinks site is infected
chakotay2
post Jul 2 2015, 03:03 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 21-October 07
Member No.: 4,108



I have an IT client of mine (I do their IT but I am not much of a web guy) who has a wordpress blog on their website.

Bing thinks it's infected. I've looked at it and can't see any issues with it.

They have submitted for reconsideration but keeps coming back as malware.

Google thinks it is fine.

Any help? I don't see that it's actually infected so I'm not sure where to go.

Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jul 2 2015, 04:03 PM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,044
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I assume the attached screenshot shows a Bing report of some sort? Can you get more information from the (i) icons in it?

It could be a false positive, in which case I don't know how to proceed with Bing.

Maybe one of the included javascripts was originally taken from a compromised/unreliable hosting site? Check that both the script authors and hosting sites are reputable.

Your Wordpress database might be compromised. If that's the case, malicious content can go undetected to the site owner (for example, it may not be inserted into pages for all users all the time). To prevent this, make sure Wordpress always has the latest security patches. No idea how to detect or fix an existing problem, though.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 2 2015, 08:34 PM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,141
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Those errors don't sound like the server itself is the problem. Bing says malware network reference means the site is somehow connected to something bad elsewhere, through a script, an iframe, embed tag or even a link.

I think the Bing thing is running crazy. glare.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
chakotay2
post Jul 3 2015, 10:36 AM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 21-October 07
Member No.: 4,108



QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 2 2015, 07:34 PM) *

Those errors don't sound like the server itself is the problem. Bing says malware network reference means the site is somehow connected to something bad elsewhere, through a script, an iframe, embed tag or even a link.

I think the Bing thing is running crazy. glare.gif


Bing is saying "Malware found on this page" as well as the reference (see the last 5 lines).

We were on PHP 5.2 and upgraded to 5.4, but we are on a Godaddy Shared server running Apache 2.2. We can't update to more current without moving to a newer server.

Any other ideas?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 3 2015, 11:36 AM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,141
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE
Bing is saying "Malware found on this page" as well as the reference (see the last 5 lines).


I know. And do you have any?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
chakotay2
post Jul 3 2015, 01:11 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 21-October 07
Member No.: 4,108



QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 3 2015, 10:36 AM) *

QUOTE
Bing is saying "Malware found on this page" as well as the reference (see the last 5 lines).


I know. And do you have any?

Depends on who you ask.

Bing says yes, everything else says no. That's why I am here to get help.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 3 2015, 01:20 PM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,141
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yes, but what do you think? Do you use for instance scripts that could be bad?

You could comment out a bunch of scripts at the time, run the Bing tool and try to narrow it down that way.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
chakotay2
post Jul 3 2015, 01:22 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 21-October 07
Member No.: 4,108



QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 3 2015, 12:20 PM) *

Yes, but what do you think? Do you use for instance scripts that could be bad?

In looking at the site, having GoDaddy look at the site, I can't find anything that I can see that's bad.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd February 2019 - 02:32 AM