The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> browser preference
Mindapolis
post Apr 16 2012, 02:58 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 2-April 11
Member No.: 14,256



Hi, I have seen websites that says works best with a specific browser. Is this a good practice? I have a website that the paypal buy now button will only display in firefox. Is it okay to request users to use firefox?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 16 2012, 03:00 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



No. It's a bad practice stemming from the days of the browser wars.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 16 2012, 04:34 PM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
Is this a good practice?
It was bad practice back when I first saw sites telling you to use Netscape Navigator 2. It's still bad practice.

If your site's content/services require certain features, then it's reasonable to require the use of a browser (any browser) that supports those features. But that doesn't seem to be the case here.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Mindapolis
post Apr 16 2012, 07:45 PM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 2-April 11
Member No.: 14,256



The reason I'm asking is I'm developing a site that has a paypal buy now button and the button displays fine in firefox but not in IE.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Mindapolis
post Apr 16 2012, 08:01 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 2-April 11
Member No.: 14,256



i'm working with the validator right now and what does this error message mean?

Line 363, character 50:

... data: "petName2=<?=$petName2;?>&age2=<?=$age2;?>&breed2=<?=$ ...

CODE

  <script src="//ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
        function AddDog() {
            if (document.checkOut.moreDogs.checked) {
                $.ajax({
                    type: "POST",
                    url: "addDogDetails.php",
                    data: "petName2=<?=$petName2;?>&age2=<?=$age2;?>&breed2=<?=$breed2;?>&nutritionalNeeds2=<?=$nutritional_needs2;?>&specialInstructions2=<?=$special_instructions2;?>",
                    success: function(rData) {
                        $('#order tr#DgLast').after(rData);
                    }
                });
            }
            else {
                $('.NewDogDetails').remove();
            }
        }
    </script>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 16 2012, 08:09 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Mindapolis @ Apr 17 2012, 02:45 AM) *

The reason I'm asking is I'm developing a site that has a paypal buy now button and the button displays fine in firefox but not in IE.


We understood that. Fix it so it works in IE.


QUOTE(Mindapolis @ Apr 17 2012, 03:01 AM) *

i'm working with the validator right now and what does this error message mean?

Line 363, character 50:

... data: "petName2=<?=$petName2;?>&age2=<?=$age2;?>&breed2=<?=$ ...

CODE

  <script src="//ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
        function AddDog() {
            if (document.checkOut.moreDogs.checked) {
                $.ajax({
                    type: "POST",
                    url: "addDogDetails.php",
                    data: "petName2=<?=$petName2;?>&age2=<?=$age2;?>&breed2=<?=$breed2;?>&nutritionalNeeds2=<?=$nutritional_needs2;?>&specialInstructions2=<?=$special_instructions2;?>",
                    success: function(rData) {
                        $('#order tr#DgLast').after(rData);
                    }
                });
            }
            else {
                $('.NewDogDetails').remove();
            }
        }
    </script>



The validator chokes on your JS. It doesn't validate JS, it sees it as peculiar HTML. Use an external script file.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 16 2012, 10:15 PM
Post #7


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
We understood that. Fix it so it works in IE.
And in Chrome, Safari, Opera, etc.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Mindapolis
post Apr 17 2012, 12:39 PM
Post #8


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 2-April 11
Member No.: 14,256



Ok I'm new to javascript so if this is a stupid question I apologize. When I'm copying that script to an external file, does the following code need to go in the external file?


CODE

<script src="//ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">


QUOTE(pandy @ Apr 16 2012, 09:09 PM) *

QUOTE(Mindapolis @ Apr 17 2012, 02:45 AM) *

The reason I'm asking is I'm developing a site that has a paypal buy now button and the button displays fine in firefox but not in IE.


We understood that. Fix it so it works in IE.


QUOTE(Mindapolis @ Apr 17 2012, 03:01 AM) *

i'm working with the validator right now and what does this error message mean?

Line 363, character 50:

... data: "petName2=<?=$petName2;?>&age2=<?=$age2;?>&breed2=<?=$ ...

CODE

  <script src="//ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
        function AddDog() {
            if (document.checkOut.moreDogs.checked) {
                $.ajax({
                    type: "POST",
                    url: "addDogDetails.php",
                    data: "petName2=<?=$petName2;?>&age2=<?=$age2;?>&breed2=<?=$breed2;?>&nutritionalNeeds2=<?=$nutritional_needs2;?>&specialInstructions2=<?=$special_instructions2;?>",
                    success: function(rData) {
                        $('#order tr#DgLast').after(rData);
                    }
                });
            }
            else {
                $('.NewDogDetails').remove();
            }
        }
    </script>



The validator chokes on your JS. It doesn't validate JS, it sees it as peculiar HTML. Use an external script file.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Mindapolis
post Apr 17 2012, 01:23 PM
Post #9


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 2-April 11
Member No.: 14,256



I copied and pasted the body of the html document in the validator and I'm still getting a lot of errors dur to the php code that is involved. There were several times when it said there was a missing closing tag so I went through the entire code and made sure every tag had a closing tag but still the buy now button won't appear in internet explorer. Any advice?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 17 2012, 03:11 PM
Post #10


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



The validator doesn't know anything about PHP, or Perl CGI, or Java servlets, or any other mechanism for generating HTML. All it knows is HTML.

Don't try to validate the PHP program. Instead, validate the HTML that the program produces.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Mindapolis
post Apr 17 2012, 09:35 PM
Post #11


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 2-April 11
Member No.: 14,256



Got it working
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:10 AM