The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting a page to show the same on different sized screens., It's me again!:)
Psy
post Nov 14 2007, 04:49 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



Ok, as you know i've bin making that website and now there are no markup errors and it's pretty much how i like it.. I made it on a 19" monitor and then tried viewing it on a 15.4" monitor. I had to scroll lright to view the right hand side of the page. How can i get it so it will display on every monitor, the same as how i can see it on the 19" monitor?

Thanks.

Psy
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 14 2007, 04:58 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see the FAQ entry For what screen size should I write?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 14 2007, 10:27 PM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



i dont get those faq things.. they tell you about the problem but not how to solve them! do i have to redo it to certain width's to fit the standard monitor size of 15.4"?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 15 2007, 07:10 AM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Did you read the pages linked to from there? To simplify, basically don't use fixed widths and don't use too large images. Do not create the page for a certain resolution.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Nov 16 2007, 11:38 AM
Post #5


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Go see if one of the links Elastic design or Liquid layouts are of help.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 16 2007, 02:51 PM
Post #6


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



umm, so i need to put em tags everywhere i have text and pictures? to make them smaller?

man this stuff is confusing!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 16 2007, 02:59 PM
Post #7


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I suppose it is confusing.

In HTML, em is a phrase element for emphasis: <em>emphasized phrase</em>

In CSS, em is a unit for length, corresponding to the height of the current font.

They really aren't the same thing at all.

The main point is that browsers will automatically adjust your content to fit the available display area, unless you do something to prevent them from doing so. So don't do things that lock in a layout, preventing browsers from doing their job.

For more specific advice, please post the URL (address) of a sample document that you're having problems with.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 16 2007, 05:16 PM
Post #8


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



It's not up at the moment, here's the css code:

CODE
/* CSS Document */
body {margin:0px; text-align:justify; font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif, Terminal; color:#000080; font-size:12px;}

a:link {color:#000080; text-decoration:none;}
a:visited {color:#000080; text-decoration:none;}
a:hover {color:#000080; text-decoration:none;}

.pagebg {background-image:url(pagebg.jpg); background-repeat:repeat-x;}

.topmenu {color:#000080; text-align:center; font-size:12px; vertical-align:middle;}
.topmenu a:link {color:#FFFFFF; margin-right:8px; margin-left:8px; text-decoration:none; font-weight:bold;}
.topmenu a:visited {color:#FFFFFF; margin-right:8px; margin-left:8px; text-decoration:none; font-weight:bold;}
.topmenu a:hover {color:#000080; margin-right:8px; margin-left:8px; text-decoration:underline; font-weight:bold;}




where would i put the em tags there?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 16 2007, 05:21 PM
Post #9


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You shouldn't put any tags in a style sheet. There's nothing there anyway that could cause the page to be too wide or too rigid.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 16 2007, 05:32 PM
Post #10


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Well, the "font-size:12px" might indicate a design that breaks in different environments (or when browsers enforce a minimum font size), but other than that, the CSS doesn't tell us much. The URL (address) of an actual HTML document that breaks would be much more useful.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 25 2007, 12:42 PM
Post #11


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Nov 16 2007, 10:32 PM) *

Well, the "font-size:12px" might indicate a design that breaks in different environments (or when browsers enforce a minimum font size), but other than that, the CSS doesn't tell us much. The URL (address) of an actual HTML document that breaks would be much more useful.


LINK

There you go..

I'm also trying to get that picture on the left in the center of the lines for example: where it says "high quality service" i want the text there to go the next line and the picture to be there so the text is next to the picture inside the lines. Any ideas?

Many thanks and sorry for a delayed answer.

Psy

This post has been edited by Psy: Nov 25 2007, 12:43 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 25 2007, 01:21 PM
Post #12


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Our online validator reports markup errors, most of which indicate structural problems.

http://www.helping-the-world.co.uk/test.swf returns 404 Not Found.

You're mixing percentage widths with pixel widths. If 80% + 180px (or, depending on how the browser recovers from your broken markup, 80% + 180px + 180px) is greater than the width of the available display area, then you're going to get horizontal scrolling.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 25 2007, 04:06 PM
Post #13


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



lol you love that validator don't you:) i could've sworn i fixed all those.. I'll take a look now.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 25 2007, 04:27 PM
Post #14


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



ok i've fixed all but one. As I don't know how to lol..

<table>
^Error: element table not allowed here; possible cause is an inline element containing a block-level element

whatever that means!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 25 2007, 04:27 PM
Post #15


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Psy @ Nov 25 2007, 10:06 PM) *

lol you love that validator don't you:)


AND SO DO I! wub.gif I love it the mostest. laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 25 2007, 04:37 PM
Post #16


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



haha! i must admit, it's a handy tool!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 25 2007, 04:56 PM
Post #17


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



There you go. Mission accomplished. happy.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Psy
post Nov 25 2007, 08:41 PM
Post #18


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 15-October 07
Member No.: 4,065



QUOTE
ok i've fixed all but one. As I don't know how to lol..

<table>
^Error: element table not allowed here; possible cause is an inline element containing a block-level element

whatever that means!


all but that and the width problem.. my problem is that i don't have a small screen to check the site on lol
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Nov 25 2007, 09:33 PM
Post #19


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,460
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



QUOTE
all but that and the width problem.. my problem is that i don't have a small screen to check the site on lol


Don't you have an operating system that allows you to change the size of the window? The total screen size has nothing to do with it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 25 2007, 09:41 PM
Post #20


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE(Psy @ Nov 25 2007, 01:27 PM) *
<table>
^Error: element table not allowed here; possible cause is an inline element containing a block-level element
If you're going to nest tables, then the inner table must be inside a td element. You've got the inner table loose, where it isn't supposed to be.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2024 - 12:32 PM