The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> help creating site, need help with a form...i think :(
ntbarton
post Sep 4 2006, 09:47 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-September 06
Member No.: 64



first off, i will say im not the best at codeing.
my problem is...
im working on a website to include a list of concerts in the city i live in.
i would like to have a form i can fill out online to update the list.
if anyone can point me in the correct direction i would be forever greatfull.
thank you.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 5 2006, 03:54 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,206
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



That sounds like a simple content management system (CMS). You could let the form rewrite an (inclusion) text file, a PHP example of such a script can be found here: http://php.net/manual/en/function.fwrite.php then the text file can easily be included on the list page using the PHP include() function.

The form script should be password-protected.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 5 2006, 05:04 AM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,206
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



A perhaps simpler idea might be to modify an existing blog (or simpler BBS) script so that only you can post to it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Sep 5 2006, 12:24 PM
Post #4


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



ntbarton,

Did any of what Christian said make sense to you, or was it too advanced?

When you said you weren't that good at coding, did you mean you are completely new to HTML?

John
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ntbarton
post Sep 5 2006, 06:24 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-September 06
Member No.: 64



ahhh..
in not too code with code in general, im not new, im just not that good with code.
most of web expierence really has been more on the graphical side.
so no. im not new to html.
php, i am new too. but thank you everyone.

christian, i will try that. thank you for a point in the right direction.
if i cant get it to work out i could do it like a blog, i didnt want too. but it would work.
thanks
nick
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 5 2006, 07:04 PM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,350
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Is the reason you want to do this that you need to update your site from computers where you can't use FTP? Another idea might be to install some kind of file management script. I've used this one to let others upload files but it has editing capabilities too. If this one doesn't suit you needs there are others...
http://www.solitude.dk/filethingie/
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ntbarton
post Sep 5 2006, 09:04 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-September 06
Member No.: 64



let me try to explain what i want a little bit better than before.
a short while ago a had a simple page that listed concerts in my area.
i would like to redo the page from the ground up, but i would like to include a form i can fill out. i want the form to update the site for me and add the shows in the correct order.
could it be done with html forms?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 5 2006, 09:13 PM
Post #8


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,350
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yeah, but however you do it you must have a script on the server that handles it. If the reason isn't that you can't use FTP, you could use SSI, PHP or whatever to include a file with the concert list in the page. Then you can edit the list locally and overwrite the old file on the server without the need to edit the whole page. That would be my choice.

I think we, or at least I, are a little confused about exactly how you want this to work.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ntbarton
post Sep 5 2006, 11:53 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-September 06
Member No.: 64



ahh dont feel bad, its got me good
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th August 2019 - 11:44 PM