The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hiding options in drop down boxes, I'm stuck. How the heck do you....
code2319
post Sep 29 2006, 09:18 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 274



Good morning from Missouri!!!

I just signed up with HTMLHelp.com this morning after battling a coding issue for an hour. I am trying to group like terms in a drop down box and separate them using '---------------' values. Here's an example of what the drop down box would look like:

Database
Table
View
-----------------
Element
File
Record
IDMS
-----------------
Program
Copybook

Using HTML, can you mask the '--------------------' values so that they are not clickable for selection? So that they are for display purposes only? Here's my code:

<table>
<form method="post" action="resultsMetaData.do" name="form1" onSubmit="showProcessing();">
<tr>
<td align=center><label for="searchtype">Search Type</label></td>
<td align=center><label for="searchterm">Search Term</label></td></tr>
<tr>
<td><SELECT NAME="searchtype">
<OPTION>Database</OPTION>
<OPTION>Table</OPTION>
<OPTION>View</OPTION>
<OPTION>---------------</OPTION>
<OPTION>Element</OPTION>
<OPTION>File</OPTION>
<OPTION>Record</OPTION>
<OPTION>IDMS</OPTION>
<OPTION>---------------</OPTION>
<OPTION>Program</OPTION>
<OPTION>Copybook</OPTION>
<OPTION>Record Copybook</OPTION>
<OPTION>---------------</OPTION>
<OPTION>Glossary</OPTION>
</SELECT></td>
<td><input type="text" name="searchterm" size="20" maxlength="255" value="" />
</td>
<td><input type="submit" name="submit1" value="Search"></td>
</tr>
</form>
</table>

Any help would be appreciated! I'm looking through manuals now also. And we all know how exciting that can be.... HA!

This post has been edited by code2319: Sep 29 2006, 09:20 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sparkyg
post Sep 29 2006, 09:27 AM
Post #2


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 29-September 06
From: Suffolk UK
Member No.: 270



Hi There

Within the showProcessing() function you need to check the value of searchtype, and return false if it is equal to '---------', that then stops the form being submitted

cheers

Sparky
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 29 2006, 11:06 AM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,043
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE
Using HTML, can you mask the '--------------------' values so that they are not clickable for selection? So that they are for display purposes only?


With HTML you might use the OPTION element's DISABLED attribute, but IE doesn't support it.

Javascript might be used as a workaround, but make sure the server-side script works even if a user without javascript submits "-----------------".
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Sep 29 2006, 12:16 PM
Post #4


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,298
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



QUOTE(code2319 @ Sep 29 2006, 11:18 PM) *

Good morning from Missouri!!!

I just signed up with HTMLHelp.com this morning after battling a coding issue for an hour. I am trying to group like terms in a drop down box and separate them using '---------------' values. Here's an example of what the drop down box would look like:

Database
Table
View
-----------------
Element
File
Record
IDMS
-----------------
Program
Copybook

Using HTML, can you mask the '--------------------' values so that they are not clickable for selection? So that they are for display purposes only? Here's my code:

<table>
<form method="post" action="resultsMetaData.do" name="form1" onSubmit="showProcessing();">
<tr>
<td align=center><label for="searchtype">Search Type</label></td>
<td align=center><label for="searchterm">Search Term</label></td></tr>
<tr>
<td><SELECT NAME="searchtype">
<OPTION>Database</OPTION>
<OPTION>Table</OPTION>
<OPTION>View</OPTION>
<OPTION>---------------</OPTION>
<OPTION>Element</OPTION>
<OPTION>File</OPTION>
<OPTION>Record</OPTION>
<OPTION>IDMS</OPTION>
<OPTION>---------------</OPTION>
<OPTION>Program</OPTION>
<OPTION>Copybook</OPTION>
<OPTION>Record Copybook</OPTION>
<OPTION>---------------</OPTION>
<OPTION>Glossary</OPTION>
</SELECT></td>
<td><input type="text" name="searchterm" size="20" maxlength="255" value="" />
</td>
<td><input type="submit" name="submit1" value="Search"></td>
</tr>
</form>
</table>

Any help would be appreciated! I'm looking through manuals now also. And we all know how exciting that can be.... HA!


Another Really Simple answer might be to separate them by *blank* entries. The blank will probably be ignored naturally if your script is reasonably robust. Well, this won't work if you _require_ the input.


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 29 2006, 09:43 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,134
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You could use OPTGROUP and its LABEL attribute. It may or may not be possible to style the label in different browsers.
http://www.htmlhelp.com/reference/html40/forms/optgroup.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th February 2019 - 10:43 AM