The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hi, I'm relatively new to HTML. Need some help with my code not working correctly.
Jay98d
post Mar 8 2014, 04:59 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



So I'm having trouble with my footer. It works fine on my home page, but now I'm on my 'About' page, it doesn't work. The footer shows up on my page, but basically it's got the same properties as the div id 'right' for some reason, instead of the properties it should have.

Here is my code: http://pastebin.ca/2653005

Also I have another question about my footer. On my pages, I have three columns in my footer. When I try and add another column though it appears underneath my third column?

I'll provide any additional info you might need on request, thanks for the help!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 8 2014, 05:11 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I see no styling for #footer or anything related to it.

Neither do I see the footer or its content on the page, but it seems to be up under the navbar somewhere because if I put a border on it there's where it turns up.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 8 2014, 05:40 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(pandy @ Mar 8 2014, 05:11 PM) *

I see no styling for #footer or anything related to it.

Neither do I see the footer or its content on the page, but it seems to be up under the navbar somewhere because if I put a border on it there's where it turns up.


When I add the styling for my footer, exactly how it is for my home page, all it does is make the whole background of my page the color the footer should be, the footer background appears as it should, but the footer content still remains in a div with the same properties as 'right'

Like this:
Before - http://i.imgur.com/isy1itk.png
After - http://i.imgur.com/1cDd3ko.png

Styling code - http://pastebin.ca/2653010
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 8 2014, 05:54 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



So what does THAT CSS look like? And how does the page that works look like? I mean the actual HTML and CSS. If you have this online you could link to it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 8 2014, 06:04 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(pandy @ Mar 8 2014, 05:54 PM) *

So what does THAT CSS look like? And how does the page that works look like? I mean the actual HTML and CSS. If you have this online you could link to it.


I don't understand, I posted the CSS code and images of what the site looks like with/without it in my last reply. The HTML for the footer is in the original post.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 8 2014, 06:33 PM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Sorry, I didn't see the link to the CSS.

But #right is some kind of beige background color. I don't see that in the footer? Neither in my browser or your image.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 8 2014, 06:42 PM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



The DIVs #header and #footer lack closing tags. That probably has something to do with it, even if I don't understand how you mean with the colors.

http://validator.w3.org/
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 8 2014, 07:56 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(pandy @ Mar 8 2014, 06:42 PM) *

The DIVs #header and #footer lack closing tags. That probably has something to do with it, even if I don't understand how you mean with the colors.

http://validator.w3.org/


Thank you! I closed the #header div, and it fixed it a little (Closing footer div didn't do anything) but it still looks like this - http://i.imgur.com/YyKFo65.png
When the footer should look like this - http://i.imgur.com/k3HcYIb.png

Here is a full copy of my HTML and CSS - http://pastebin.ca/2653036
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 8 2014, 08:26 PM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



The black(ish) color is applied to #footer, but inside that you have a DIV with the class left for which you have specified a blue color and that's what you see.

The simplest would probably be to just copy the footer from the working page. It can't be the same, not if the CSS is the same anyway.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 9 2014, 06:38 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(pandy @ Mar 8 2014, 08:26 PM) *

The black(ish) color is applied to #footer, but inside that you have a DIV with the class left for which you have specified a blue color and that's what you see.

The simplest would probably be to just copy the footer from the working page. It can't be the same, not if the CSS is the same anyway.


Thank you! It was the 'left' div in the footer that I didn't notice. Changed the name of it now and it's working fine.

Could you tell me why I can't add any new columns in my footer? When I add another one, it appears under the third column instead of showing as a fourth column.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 9 2014, 10:55 AM
Post #11


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Nope, since I don't know how you try to do it. wink.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 9 2014, 03:02 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(pandy @ Mar 9 2014, 10:55 AM) *

Nope, since I don't know how you try to do it. wink.gif


My site and code before adding fourth column: http://i.imgur.com/4LGU8th.jpg http://pastebin.ca/2653163

My site and code after attempting to add the fourth column, copying my code from the third column: http://i.imgur.com/R3wTYoO.jpg http://pastebin.ca/2653164

Any suggestions?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 9 2014, 03:26 PM
Post #13


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,313
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



That's just a snip of HTML if I didn't miss anything again.

Can't you just link to a page with everything included? Or upload the complete HTML and CSS here. I don't want to guess what to paste together from your previous posts and get it our from pastebin. sad.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 9 2014, 06:27 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(pandy @ Mar 9 2014, 03:26 PM) *

That's just a snip of HTML if I didn't miss anything again.

Can't you just link to a page with everything included? Or upload the complete HTML and CSS here. I don't want to guess what to paste together from your previous posts and get it our from pastebin. sad.gif


Here's the full code before trying to add the fourth column: http://pastebin.ca/2653036
And after: http://pastebin.ca/2653188
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 9 2014, 09:40 PM
Post #15


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,624
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



The class is blank on line 170. No CSS is being applied. Could this be your problem?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jay98d
post Mar 10 2014, 04:56 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 8-March 14
Member No.: 20,486



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 9 2014, 09:40 PM) *

The class is blank on line 170. No CSS is being applied. Could this be your problem?

Nope, it's fine in the actual file... Don't know why it came out like that in the pastebin link...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2019 - 01:11 PM