The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> cell spacing
kasmador
post Dec 6 2008, 08:54 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



Hey,
I want to be able to have different cell spacing.

On top and bottom I want it to be 0. On the sides I want it to be 20. How do you do this?

The page:

CODE
<html>
     <head>
       <title>
         Browsing <!-- #echo var="URL" encoding="reverse-url" -->
       </title>
       <style type="text/css">
        body {background-color: #000000; color: #FF0000; text-align: center}
        h1 {size: 110%; text-decoration: underline}
        a:link {color: #FF0000}
        a:visited {color: #00FF00}
        a:hover {color: #FF00FF}
       </style>
     </head>
  
     <body>
     <h1>Browsing <!-- #echo var="URL" encoding="reverse-url" --></h1>
       <table border="0" cellspacing="20" align="center">
         <tr>
           <th align="center">Name</th>
           <th align="center">Size</th>
           <th align="center">Type</th>
         </tr>
        
        
        <tr>
           <td align="center"><a href="<!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_URL" -->"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_NAME" --></a></td>
           <td align="center"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_SIZE" --> </td>
           <td align="center"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_MIME_TYPE" --> </td>
        </tr>
        
        </table>
      </body>
   </html>


Just doing things myself I think that there is better ways of doing them. EX: for the table I aligned it "center" in the <table>. Would this be better done if it was in the css under table {align: center}. I have tried this but could not get it to work...


thanks to all

This post has been edited by kasmador: Dec 6 2008, 08:55 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 6 2008, 11:30 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



With CSS, you can specify padding for the td elements, and you can specify different padding for all four sides.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 7 2008, 12:17 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



could you explain further, I'm pretty new to all this. I just added to this free script I found.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 7 2008, 01:45 AM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see the FAQ entry Where can I learn about CSS?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 7 2008, 05:17 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



Padding is added inside the cell, thus making the name of the file or the size create a second line to compensate for the lack of space. Not what I want.
IPB Image
I want to keep it looking like. The only difference is I want space between the colums.

The padding would work if I gave my table a width, but I want it to be all automatic. The cells are as big as the longest name, all in one line.

IPB Image
Like this, but take the spacing off the top and bottom, just keep it on the sides.
thanks

This post has been edited by kasmador: Dec 7 2008, 05:27 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Dec 8 2008, 03:45 AM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



See http://htmlhelp.com/reference/css/box/padding.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 8 2008, 01:10 PM
Post #7


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Ah, I understand. That's the separated borders model in CSS 2.1. I don't use it much myself, so I didn't consider it.

Anyway, the border-spacing property can take two values. The first is the horizontal spacing, and the second is the vertical spacing. So you might try something like
CODE
border-spacing: 1em 0
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 8 2008, 06:53 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



ok cool. thanks thats what I wanted.
Now another question, If I should create a new topic tell me.

This is how it looks like now.
IPB Image
I want to make the first line : Name Size Type : have bigger font. I have already used "th" instead of "td" but it does not make a huge difference. I've tried a few things myself with no success.

This post has been edited by kasmador: Dec 8 2008, 06:53 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 8 2008, 07:02 PM
Post #9


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



You can specify a different font size for the th elements:
CODE
th { font-size: 200% }
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 9 2008, 01:22 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



thanks,
another question. You see the .../, this is to go up a directory, how would you change that to some writing, like back or something.

it uses this script:td align="center"><a href="<!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_URL" -->"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_NAME" --></a></td>

So how would you change the first one?

thanks
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 9 2008, 01:55 PM
Post #11


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



How do you mean?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 9 2008, 07:38 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



the first thing under the NAME is ".../" This is to go up a directory. I would like to change that to "back". Is this possible?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 9 2008, 08:12 PM
Post #13


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You mean you want to mimic the browser's back button? If they came from Google, they'll go back to Google?

CODE
<!--#echo var="HTTP_REFERER" -->
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 9 2008, 11:40 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



IPB Image
I want to change what I have circled to BACK/. Is that possible. Here is the code

CODE
<html>
     <head>
       <title>
         Browsing <!-- #echo var="URL" encoding="reverse-url" -->
       </title>
       <style type="text/css">
        body {background-color: #000000; color: #FF0000; text-align: center}
        h1 {size: 110%; text-decoration: underline}
        a:link {color: #FF0000}
        a:visited {color: #00FF00}
        a:hover {color: #FF00FF}
        table {table-layout: automatic; border-spacing: 2em 0}
        th {font-size: 130%}
       </style>
     </head>
  
     <body>
     <h1>Browsing <!-- #echo var="URL" encoding="reverse-url" --></h1>
       <table border="0" align="center">
         <tr>
           <th align="center">Name</th>
           <th align="center">Size</th>
           <th align="center">Type</th>
         </tr>
        
        
        <tr>
           <td align="center"><a href="<!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_URL" -->"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_NAME" --></a></td>
           <td align="center"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_SIZE" --> </td>
           <td align="center"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_MIME_TYPE" --> </td>
        </tr>
        
        
        <a href="http://www.danasoft.com"><img src="http://www.danasoft.com/sig/57380.jpg" border="0"></a><div style="font-family:arial,sans-serif;font-size:11px;"></a></div>
        </table>
      </body>
   </html>


This post has been edited by kasmador: Dec 9 2008, 11:40 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 10 2008, 12:13 AM
Post #15


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Do you mean the link text? What's shown on the page? Can't you just type it?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 10 2008, 12:19 AM
Post #16


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



OK, that's a template for a directory listing using Abyss, is that right?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 11 2008, 01:34 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



yes that is. I modified it.

Under the name column the first one is to go back. It says ".../" I want it to say "back/".
Is this possible?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 12 2008, 07:35 PM
Post #18


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



If Abyss has a configuration file where these things are defined I guess you can. Otherwise you can't.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kasmador
post Dec 12 2008, 09:37 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 7,269



this is all I can change

CODE
<html>
     <head>
       <title>
         Browsing <!-- #echo var="URL" encoding="reverse-url" -->
       </title>
       <style type="text/css">
        body {background-color: #000000; color: #FF0000; text-align: center}
        h1 {size: 110%; text-decoration: underline}
        a:link {color: #FF0000}
        a:visited {color: #00FF00}
        a:hover {color: #FF00FF}
        table {table-layout: automatic; border-spacing: 2em 0}
        th {font-size: 130%}
       </style>
     </head>
  
     <body>
     <h1>Browsing <!-- #echo var="URL" encoding="reverse-url" --></h1>
       <table border="0" align="center">
         <tr>
           <th align="center">Name</th>
           <th align="center">Size</th>
           <th align="center">Type</th>
         </tr>
        
        
        <tr>
           <td align="center"><a href="<!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_URL" -->"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_NAME" --></a></td>
           <td align="center"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_SIZE" --> </td>
           <td align="center"><!-- #echo var="DIRLIST_FILE_MIME_TYPE" --> </td>
        </tr>
        
        
        <a href="http://www.danasoft.com"><img src="http://www.danasoft.com/sig/57380.jpg" border="0"></a><div style="font-family:arial,sans-serif;font-size:11px;"></a></div>
        </table>
      </body>
   </html>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 13 2008, 03:01 AM
Post #20


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



This is question turns out to be about server-side programming, not markup, so I've moved it accordingly.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2024 - 02:13 PM