The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dynamic update?, updating only a table with a page
dsp
post Mar 3 2008, 07:05 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 06
From: UK
Member No.: 1,173



I don't know what it's called but i'd like to use it - dynamic update?

I visited a website recently which to simplify my explaination, consisted of a menu down one side and the main body text on the other.

When a menu/nav link was clicked the text content of the body was refreshed very quick - nothing else on the page seemed to reload (no flicker etc).

I hope this makes sense and someone can explain what and how to achieve this.

At the time I thought that the main text would be in a table and that was all that was being refreshed, but looking at the code it was just DIVs
CODE
<div>code in here...</div>
and didn't think you could do the above that way. I was expecting a js script or something, but I didn't see any script loading or anything similar.

Anyone an idea about this? Cheers.

This post has been edited by dsp: Mar 3 2008, 07:12 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 3 2008, 07:15 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



The server was probably fast, the pages light and the menu and other items were in exactly the same location on all pages. If there are physical files or if the content comes from a database shouldn't matter much, but I'd rather think that flat files would be faster.

Otherwise it sounds like you describe FRAMES. IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dsp
post Mar 3 2008, 07:26 PM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 06
From: UK
Member No.: 1,173



Definately no frames Pandy - just DIVs. The pages are light. As I say only the text changed, and yes the menu graphics are in the same place. The server is local too... well about 50 miles away. Is that "local"? :-)

So, is there away to only update a table of text if the rest of the page has no need to change?


This post has been edited by dsp: Mar 3 2008, 07:26 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Dr Z
post Mar 3 2008, 07:56 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 23-August 06
Member No.: 11



Can you post the URL to the web site you referring to?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 3 2008, 08:15 PM
Post #5


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yeah, I'd say that's local. As said, I think it just looked like the menu was there all the time. As Z s aid, a URL would be nice.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Mar 4 2008, 03:23 AM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



It sounds as if you've been seeing something similar as ALA's Let them eat cake (see the demo here.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dsp
post Mar 4 2008, 05:46 AM
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 06
From: UK
Member No.: 1,173



QUOTE(Frederiek @ Mar 4 2008, 08:23 AM) *

It sounds as if you've been seeing something similar as ALA's Let them eat cake (see the demo here.


Yes, that demo looks like what I thought was happening, and looks very cool and quick load. Thanks Frederieck.

Sorry, can't provide the url as its not live yet, but only in preview mode (OK it's live for approval / testing only - not mine but a friends site so don't feel confortable giving it out - maybe when it's totally live).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 4 2008, 11:30 AM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I don't understand the purpose of that ALA demo. What's the advantage of having all content on the same page? It would look exactly the same if there were 5 different pages . They could be bookmarked too. Now the "sections" can be bookmarked only with JS off. unsure.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Pieman
post Mar 4 2008, 12:30 PM
Post #9


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 10-February 08
Member No.: 4,927



I think it was done with AJAX, which let's you reload only parts of your site.

link:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ajax_%28programming%29

This post has been edited by Pieman: Mar 4 2008, 12:32 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Mar 4 2008, 12:34 PM
Post #10


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
I don't understand the purpose of that ALA demo.
Yeah, but it's so KEWL!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Mar 4 2008, 01:06 PM
Post #11


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Pieman @ Mar 4 2008, 06:30 PM) *

I think it was done with AJAX, which let's you reload only parts of your site.


No, it's the old show-hide.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Mar 4 2008, 01:23 PM
Post #12


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



These are cool too, Darin :

http://www.stunicholls.com/various/index.html (1. and 2. in this particular case)
(Stu Nicholls CSS with a little javascript site, as opposite to his CSS only http://www.cssplay.co.uk/index.html)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Mar 4 2008, 01:29 PM
Post #13


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



The ALA example keeps the content accessible when JavaScript is disabled/unavailable, but CSS is supported. Stu Nicholls' examples don't let you access the content without turning on JavaScript or turning off CSS.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Mar 4 2008, 02:33 PM
Post #14


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I know, but still... they are cute
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2024 - 09:33 PM