Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,244

Hi,
Hope I'm posting in the right place.
I'm a senior amateur newbie putting up a site for my surf board club at :

http://dysf.info

and a few linked test pages from there

I had no software so downloaded NVU to do the site and it seemed to work a treat with a bit of patience.
I've been using large background pics and sometimes running type around elements to position themselves for effect - breaking over pics etc. Works great in Firefox and I thought it was pretty simple as I don't have the time to start learning about css and stuff . Just play with layout and copy to keep things interesting is what I thought.

But in Explorer I have discovered things are not as they should be.
Headlines are radically reduced, text and pictures are repositioned and it really does spoil things both in the way things look and flow - IN Firefox it's kinda cute and has potential for a nice site, in Explorer it looks crappy.

I'd appreciate a bit of advice ( especially advice that assumes I know nothing about what I'm doing here !) smile.gif I figure I can't be the only one with this problem but have been searching for almost a week for a solution, hounded daily by a surf club membership full of loud cursing technological troglodytes using explorer and not firefox. ... well they are australian!

I have validated the code , changed the preference to strict code and it seems o.k. and am stuck.
I really don't know much, the last page I designed was in 1995 ....sorry.
Hope someone can help me .
Thanks for getting this far

dypete
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dypete
post Aug 21 2007, 04:33 AM
Post #2

Well thanks all - over a month and no replies.