The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Page Memory, Can it be prevent
gohaleg
post Oct 7 2006, 04:00 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-October 06
Member No.: 362



I am designing a web page. Pretty simple, 3 images, and a flash component.

The problem is, firefox or internet explorer is memorizing the page.

That means that even if i change the SWF file (flash file), it keeps being the same all the time!

Is there any code i can put on the page so that when it starts, automaticaly erases previous data stored?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CodeKing
post Oct 7 2006, 04:26 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 118



QUOTE

The problem is, firefox or internet explorer is memorizing the page.


That's the Cache. It stores files form websites on the harddrive to minimize download time. It also helps reduce your bandwidth. biggrin.gif

QUOTE

That means that even if i change the SWF file (flash file), it keeps being the same all the time!


I've had the same problem as you. It can get annoying. mad.gif

QUOTE

Is there any code i can put on the page so that when it starts, automaticaly erases previous data stored?


If your using PHP, add ?random=<? mt_srand(microtime()*1000000); print(mt_rand()%1000000); ?> to your SRC of the SWF. That will give you a 1 in a million chance that the flash file won't be reloaded. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CodeKing: Oct 7 2006, 04:26 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jacknicholson1974
post Oct 9 2006, 12:09 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-October 06
Member No.: 372



Here's a meta tag that will prevent the browser from caching (memorizing) the page:

<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">

You can erase the cache of your browser(s) by searching through the internet options. Firefox has a cool extention that allows you to clear the cache with a single click.

As far as using the "no cache" meta tag, consider this: Browsers cache pages for faster page loading. If you're using flash, chances are your page has a higher than usual loading time to begin with, so enabling cache would allow your page(s) to load quicker.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Peter1968
post Oct 9 2006, 03:36 AM
Post #4


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 23-September 06
Member No.: 213



The pragma method doesn't work with all browsers, notably IE 5.x and below. The http-expire method has variable support as well.

The proper method to do it is via HTTP headers, which is not something everyone can do obviously.

http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc2187.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 06:23 PM