The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V « < 5 6 7  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How bad is Win 10?
pandy
post Nov 8 2017, 11:11 AM
Post #121


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,822
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Christian J @ Nov 8 2017, 02:12 PM) *

QUOTE(pandy @ Nov 8 2017, 12:27 PM) *

I still can't set associations from within the programs themselvs, not in most cases anyway.

Haven't tried that myself, IIRC. Online tutorials don't seem to mention that method either (from a quick search).



Never? Most programs have it in options. For example, I want IrfanView associated with basically all image files except RAW formats. There's a heck of a lot of image formats you can encounter even if I don't create images in most of them myself. So much easier to do it from within Irfan than going through the mess with one extension at the time. Same with Notetab. I want everything text to be openened in Notetab.

QUOTE
QUOTE
Another thing that doesn't work that I haven't meantioned is to make programs start with Windows. It works with maybe 1/3 of the programs I've tried with. No go with the rest. Neither using the programs' Options nor adding an icon to the strartup folder works.

Haven't tried that either. Do the programs show in the Startup tab in Task Manager?


If I've put them there. Still doesn't work mostly. If it doesn't work and I have tried to do it from the program's settings the icon doesn't show up.

QUOTE
QUOTE
Yeah, as I said, every problem I've had seems common (the associations, the icons, the UAC thing...). But I've got them all. That's why I think the installation may be wonky.

Or you're a power user. cool.gif I for one haven't fiddled that much with my installation.


But it's all basic stuff. Except maybe UAC that's just stupid. Doesn't everyone want to open files by clicking or drag and drop?


QUOTE

QUOTE
I've stuck with the Windows firewall and anti virus for now. Isn't it ironic that they force OS updated on you but you have to update the virus definitions manually? That's about the only thing I would be fine with if it happened without my consent. wacko.gif

Seems to happen if you're on a Metered connection. It might be better if Windows searched for Defender updates but let you decide when to download them.


Ah, that could be it. But Windows does just that for me. Tells me there is an update. Defender is the AV thing, right?
Still stupid. It's a small file, or should be anyway. What does it matter if the connection is metered?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Nov 8 2017, 12:16 PM
Post #122


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,764
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Nov 8 2017, 05:11 PM) *

Never?

Not on Win10, IIRC.

QUOTE
I want IrfanView associated with basically all image files except RAW formats. There's a heck of a lot of image formats you can encounter even if I don't create images in most of them myself. So much easier to do it from within Irfan than going through the mess with one extension at the time.

I found things like .mp3 in Irfanview's list as well, so I opted for setting them individually. I almost never encounter unusual file formats, but when I do I might actually prefer Windows to ask me than having them open in the completely wrong program.

BTW, now I saw that Irfanview's file association menus says "START AS ADMIN(!)" at the top, so that seems important...

QUOTE
Haven't tried that either. Do the programs show in the Startup tab in Task Manager?
QUOTE
If I've put them there. Still doesn't work mostly. If it doesn't work and I have tried to do it from the program's settings the icon doesn't show up.

Are these the same programs that cause a UAC prompt when you start them? And does any of this have something to do with unsigned programs? I bet many older small programs are unsigned.

QUOTE
QUOTE
Or you're a power user. cool.gif I for one haven't fiddled that much with my installation.

But it's all basic stuff. Except maybe UAC that's just stupid. Doesn't everyone want to open files by clicking or drag and drop?

I was thinking maybe you change more of that basic stuff than most users. As for the UAC, I understand it's not just an extra warning, but also prevents privilege elevation by design. In Vista you could disable that kind of lockdown, but again I haven't tried that with 10.

QUOTE

Ah, that could be it. But Windows does just that for me. Tells me there is an update. Defender is the AV thing, right?
Still stupid. It's a small file, or should be anyway. What does it matter if the connection is metered?

Sometimes the files are large, like 10MB.


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 9 2017, 07:22 AM
Post #123


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 17,822
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Christian J @ Nov 8 2017, 06:16 PM) *

QUOTE
I want IrfanView associated with basically all image files except RAW formats. There's a heck of a lot of image formats you can encounter even if I don't create images in most of them myself. So much easier to do it from within Irfan than going through the mess with one extension at the time.

I found things like .mp3 in Irfanview's list as well, so I opted for setting them individually. I almost never encounter unusual file formats, but when I do I might actually prefer Windows to ask me than having them open in the completely wrong program.

BTW, now I saw that Irfanview's file association menus says "START AS ADMIN(!)" at the top, so that seems important...


I don't find that option. But it doesn't matter since no other way to make programs run as admin works...

You can choose Images Only. And even ticking the boxes one by one is a lot faster than doing it through the Windows settings. Which doesn't always work for me either. Me, since I want most image formats, choose Images Only and then uncheck the few I don't want.

QUOTE

QUOTE
Haven't tried that either. Do the programs show in the Startup tab in Task Manager?
QUOTE
If I've put them there. Still doesn't work mostly. If it doesn't work and I have tried to do it from the program's settings the icon doesn't show up.

Are these the same programs that cause a UAC prompt when you start them? And does any of this have something to do with unsigned programs? I bet many older small programs are unsigned.


I don't know. Almost all programs got the UAC prompt. I turned it off and don't remember now.

QUOTE
QUOTE
QUOTE
Or you're a power user. cool.gif I for one haven't fiddled that much with my installation.

But it's all basic stuff. Except maybe UAC that's just stupid. Doesn't everyone want to open files by clicking or drag and drop?

I was thinking maybe you change more of that basic stuff than most users. As for the UAC, I understand it's not just an extra warning, but also prevents privilege elevation by design. In Vista you could disable that kind of lockdown, but again I haven't tried that with 10.


Come on, clicking on files and drag and drop are advanced use? Everyone, except maybe you, does it. tongue.gif

QUOTE
QUOTE

Ah, that could be it. But Windows does just that for me. Tells me there is an update. Defender is the AV thing, right?
Still stupid. It's a small file, or should be anyway. What does it matter if the connection is metered?

Sometimes the files are large, like 10MB.



10 MB isn't large these days. If that's too much the user can't browse the web either. I'd say it corresponds to about 10-15 pages at a newspaper site.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Nov 9 2017, 10:00 AM
Post #124


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,764
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Nov 9 2017, 01:22 PM) *

I don't find that option. But it doesn't matter since no other way to make programs run as admin works...

It's just a text message, I suppose it means you should start Irfanview as admin. But it's not mentioned in the Help (which only talks about XP), while the Help's FAQ says:

Q: If I start IrfanView on Windows 7, the system asks me each time about the start as Administrator, why?

A: Somebody, not IrfanView, set the program properties to "Run as administrator". Disable this option (right click on IrfanView icon/EXE, Properties, tab: Compatibility) and run IrfanView normally. Actually, no option should be selected in the Compatibility tab for IrfanView.

unsure.gif

QUOTE
You can choose Images Only.

Oh, missed that.

QUOTE
I don't know. Almost all programs got the UAC prompt. I turned it off and don't remember now.

I only get it for old and/or small ones, and sometimes when updating browsers.

QUOTE
Come on, clicking on files and drag and drop are advanced use? Everyone, except maybe you, does it. tongue.gif

No I meant maybe you customize a lot of simple things, which adds to the bug count.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

7 Pages V « < 5 6 7
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th February 2018 - 09:01 AM