The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Everything looked fine until I moved Doctype to the very first line., Divs look wrong
embz
post Sep 6 2006, 12:47 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-September 06
Member No.: 75



URL: http://www.cloud-walker.org/yupc
CSS: http://www.cloud-walker.org/yupc/yupc.css
Website's appearance, pre-move: http://www.cloud-walker.org/yupc/yupc3.gif

I ran the HTML and CSS validators, fixed all the mistakes with the exception of this line in my css file (didn't know what to do with it):

# Line: 56 Context : div.menu

Parse Error - ( position:absolute;
# Line: 61

Parse Error - :0; left:0; ) table.menu a
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 6 2006, 02:56 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



You have parentheses where you should have braces. Change
CODE
div.menu (
    position:absolute;
    top:0;
    left:0;
)
to
CODE
div.menu {
    position:absolute;
    top:0;
    left:0;
}
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
embz
post Sep 6 2006, 07:15 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-September 06
Member No.: 75



I changed it. It still looks the same.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 6 2006, 07:40 PM
Post #4


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



i've found that depending on your development environment case sensitivity can be an issue.
HEADER1 in css, header1 in html, etc.,

http://devedge-temp.mozilla.org/viewsource...1/css-class-id/

hth, jim
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 7 2006, 01:52 AM
Post #5


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



The rendering mode (triggered by the doctype declaration) can affect browsers' case-sensitivity in XHTML, but IIRC it shouldn't be an issue for HTML (which is supposed to be case-insensitive).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 7 2006, 05:29 AM
Post #6


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,648
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



If you combine 100% BODY height with a std mode Doctype, you must also specify the height of the root element. See http://www.quirksmode.org/css/100percheight.html

Also, since you use

CODE
div.menu {
    position:absolute;
    top:0;
    left:0;
}


this will apply to the nearest positioned (absolute or relative) parent element, but since no such parent exists it defaults to the page's top left corner. And I don't see why you want it abs pos in the first place?

The whole HTML structure is a bit untintuitive, this complicates the CSS and is not very semantic:

* Use P for paragraphs rather than DIV.

* Instead of <div id="header1"> and <div id="header2"> you can use a single H1 (but see below).

* "Contest Winner" might be an appropriate H1 content if that's what the page is all about, otherwise use H2. If you do want it as the page's main heading it should be closer to the top in the HTML structure, so the page makes sense when CSS is unused.

* "Random Photos" and "Announcements" shouldn't use more H1s, use H2s.

* Instead of a table inside two DIVs for the menu you might use a list. This can be styled as an inline row of links: http://alistapart.com/articles/taminglists/

You also use onfocus="this.blur()" on the links, but this makes keyboard navigation impossible. If you must get rid of the selection rectangle, try e.g. onmouseup="this.blur" instead. See also http://www.cs.tut.fi/~jkorpela/www/links.html#selrect
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Sep 7 2006, 08:53 AM
Post #7


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



QUOTE

The rendering mode (triggered by the doctype declaration) can affect browsers' case-sensitivity in XHTML, but IIRC it shouldn't be an issue for HTML (which is supposed to be case-insensitive).


Hi Darin,
I agree it's supposed to be, and it certainly works in the case of properties and descriptors like p OR P, A:link OR a:lInK, WIDTH or width, but what about the case of this perfectly valid css

CODE

#headeR1 {
height : 112px;
width: 100%;
padding : 0px;
margin : 0px;
border-width : 0px;
}

#Header1 {
height : 100px;
width: 50%;
padding : 10px;
margin : 10px;
border-width : 0px;
}


Besides the fact it's just sloppy and confusing blink.gif

This post has been edited by jimlongo: Sep 7 2006, 08:54 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 7 2006, 10:02 AM
Post #8


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,648
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I just tested, and IE, Opera and FF all ignore the case-insensitive selector in std mode:

CODE
#Header1 {
border: solid blue;
}

<div id="header1">foo</div>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 7 2006, 10:27 AM
Post #9


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Because, as it says in the devedge article...
http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/struct/global.html#h-7.5.2
id = name [CS]
class = cdata-list [CS]
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2024 - 12:22 AM