The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Missing from Windoze ?, How to grab paths?
WillOsborn
post Feb 27 2014, 05:50 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-February 14
Member No.: 20,348



I run COREL Draw and Paint and InDesign as needed. Mostly COREL. I'm sure that this applies to many other programs. The issue is simple:

How to grab paths? I.e., I've got 15 Draw files open because it is SO tedious to try to recreate the 9 levels of folders in the path to the file - the 15 different paths. If I do a Save As in Draw or Paint, it doesn't go to the place I last saved that file, as you might think. No, it tries to save to the last Save As location that you used in that program - one of the 15. I frequently slip up and Save As to a completely different location than I intended, and it is hopeless to try to do a company intranet search, which would take an hour or so. Often, I will be cutting and pasting from a previous version of something, and then COREL decides that file is updated, which means it wants to do a Save or Save As, but I'm not sure if there were any actual changes - two days and 30 projects later - so I don't want to just Save, but I can't simply Save As, either, as the officially recognized Save As directory has changed 55 times since that file was opened.

What is really, truly stupid is that at the top of the Draw or Paint screen or in the Document Info panel is the actual pathway - but it doesn't let you grab it and copy like a browser address bar and then paste it into a notepad note. WHY? My 1986 Amiga had a way of letting you grab text from anything anywhere on a screen. Is there a secret in Windows 7 that would give me this miraculous power? If it only worked with COREL, that would be a HUGE help.

Thanks
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Feb 27 2014, 06:29 PM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,966
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Since this seems more about using programs than web authoring I move it to Off Topic.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Feb 27 2014, 06:43 PM
Post #3


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,549
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I have not used Draw or Paint but I have used WordPerfect, QuattroPro, etc. I seem to remember Corel making this change in v10 or v11 and I wrote a macro to replace the default 'Save As' button.

Does Draw or Paint have a macro language? Or, at least, a macro recorder? Maybe you could do the same.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2018 - 01:54 AM