The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Link to a particular row of a table
Woody20
post Apr 18 2012, 02:47 PM
Post #1


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 11-March 11
Member No.: 14,105



In file Dest.htm, there is a table. In file Source.htm, I have a link, which I would like to refer to a particular row of the table in Dest.htm, meaning, that row should be visible after clicking the link (it's a long table). I tried
In Source.htm:
CODE
<a href="Dest.htm#GoHere">Link to click</a>

In Dest.htm:
CODE
<table>
<tr><td>some data</td></tr>
<tr id="GoHere"><td>Desired destination</td></tr>
...
</table>

but this doesn't work; the link goes to the beginning of Dest.htm, not the desired row. How can I make the destination show Dest.htm scrolled to the desired row?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 18 2012, 05:39 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Are you sure the page is long enough to be able to scroll down to that spot?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Woody20
post Apr 18 2012, 09:43 PM
Post #3


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 11-March 11
Member No.: 14,105



QUOTE(pandy @ Apr 18 2012, 05:39 PM) *

Are you sure the page is long enough to be able to scroll down to that spot?
The destination page is many screens long; the table itself is most of the page, so it is also several screens. I want the specified row to appear near the top of the screen when the user clicks the link.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 18 2012, 10:08 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Then I don't know. Must be some problem with your markup. Can you post a link to the page?

Theoretically there could be a browser that doesn't accept an id for TR as an anchor, but the ones I've tried do.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Woody20
post Apr 19 2012, 12:03 AM
Post #5


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 11-March 11
Member No.: 14,105



QUOTE(pandy @ Apr 18 2012, 10:08 PM) *

Theoretically there could be a browser that doesn't accept an id for TR as an anchor, but the ones I've tried do.
Browser is IE4 (used in HTML Help).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 19 2012, 12:32 AM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Are you joking? IE4? Well, that's the explanation then. IIRC it won't go to an id, no matter where you put it. You need to use A with the name attribute. Put it around the first few words in the first cell in that row.

But I'm curious, are you talking about a CHM file? But why IE4?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2024 - 04:54 AM