The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Frames, Need help with HTML frames
eureka
post Jan 31 2011, 02:16 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 31-January 11
Member No.: 13,746




Hi, I am new to HTML. Just finished learning HTML. To try my hand at HTML I designed one small dummy website. The code is.

<html>
<head>
<frameset rows="155,55,*,25" border="3">
<frame src="file:///E:/website_dummy/html/top.html" scrolling=no noresize="noresize">
<frame src="file:///E:/website_dummy/html/middle.html" scrolling=no noresize="noresize">
<frame src="main.html" name=main.html>
<frame src="file:///E:/website_dummy/html/main.html" scrolling=no noresize="noresize">
<frame src="main.html" name=main.html>
<frame src="file:///E:/website_dummy/html/bottom.html" scrolling=no noresize="noresize">
</frameset>
</head>
<html>

This site has 4 horizontal frames.
Frame 1=top.html - this is where my banner is
Frame 2 = middle.html - this is where i have links
Frame 3 = main.hmtl - this is where my navigatinglinks will open
Frame 4 - bottom.html - here i m calling an image where copyright info is written.

My problem is with frame 4. In bottom.html i have sourced the copyright image. But i m not able to view when i open the index page. I was suggested that html cant handle 4 frames. so remove it. But i m not convinced. please help me and correct me in my code.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Jan 31 2011, 03:55 AM
Post #2


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,460
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



Frames are not a good place to start learning html. I recommend you scrap them.

Anyway, within the <frameset> tag, which specifies *4* frames, you have *6* <frame> tags. This is probably the immediate problem.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
eureka
post Jan 31 2011, 06:27 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 31-January 11
Member No.: 13,746



QUOTE(Brian Chandler @ Jan 31 2011, 02:25 PM) *

Frames are not a good place to start learning html. I recommend you scrap them.

Anyway, within the <frameset> tag, which specifies *4* frames, you have *6* <frame> tags. This is probably the immediate problem.




Thanks Brian. Yes if i remove 2 frames ie. <frame src="main.html" name=main.html> then my 4th frame is able to source the image. But if i remove these frames then my links do not open in my 3rd frame which is main.html. They open in another window. I want them open in the main.html frame only. Pl. help.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
eureka
post Jan 31 2011, 07:24 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 31-January 11
Member No.: 13,746



QUOTE(eureka @ Jan 31 2011, 04:57 PM) *

QUOTE(Brian Chandler @ Jan 31 2011, 02:25 PM) *

Frames are not a good place to start learning html. I recommend you scrap them.

Anyway, within the <frameset> tag, which specifies *4* frames, you have *6* <frame> tags. This is probably the immediate problem.




Thanks Brian. Yes if i remove 2 frames ie. <frame src="main.html" name=main.html> then my 4th frame is able to source the image. But if i remove these frames then my links do not open in my 3rd frame which is main.html. They open in another window. I want them open in the main.html frame only. Pl. help.


Thanks a lot for ur help. I cd correct my code. now all links working properly. I know Frames are not the gud thing to start learning HTML. I sd rather start learning with table and tableless formats. Which I plan to do now. Thanks once again and keep helping me in future.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 08:38 PM