The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 301 permanent redirection help
Almalutz
post Apr 30 2019, 07:20 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 17
Member No.: 26,347



Hello all, hope you all are doing well. I have a website and its URL has been changed and i want to implement 301 permanent redirection on my website. The home page URL is same but inner page URL's have been changed. My Home page website URL is unchanged- http://www.emulateinfotech.com but the inner URL's have been renamed. here are some old and new URL's of my website-

Old URL- http://www.emulateinfotech.com/about-us.aspx
New URL- http://www.emulateinfotech.com/about-us

Old URL- http://www.emulateinfotech.com/portfolio.aspx
New URL- http://www.emulateinfotech.com/portfolio

Old URL- http://www.emulateinfotech.com/contact-us.aspx
New URL- http://www.emulateinfotech.com/contact-us

Can anyone tell me the 301 permanent redirection code from old aspx page to new php website. It would be very helpful if anyone could help. Thanks in advance.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 30 2019, 09:11 AM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,251
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Is it a Windows server?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Almalutz
post May 1 2019, 01:32 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 17
Member No.: 26,347



yes it's a window's server
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 1 2019, 12:12 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,251
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Sorry, then I don't know. But I read somewhere that if you have the URL Rewrite Module you can do it in a .htaccess like way (what's used on Apache), even if with a different syntax.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/iis/extens...deo-walkthrough
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Almalutz
post May 2 2019, 12:20 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 17
Member No.: 26,347



I have tried from htaccess but its not working its showing 404 error and "/" error
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 2 2019, 02:10 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,251
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You mean you've used an .htaccess file? No, that won't work on IIS, not that I know of.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 2 2019, 04:26 AM
Post #7


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,137
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Maybe this explains how to do it on IIS?
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/iis/configuration/
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/iis/config...r/httpredirect/

Maybe the web host's control panel has a simplified way to do this as well.

This post has been edited by Christian J: May 2 2019, 06:50 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 2 2019, 07:37 PM
Post #8


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,251
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Doesn't seem so. If I understand it half right the best you can do is redirect the whole site to a specific URL. But I understood very little so... wacko.gif

Still think you need the URL Rewrite Module. But I don't know how to find out if it's installed. Well, asking the host is of course one way.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2019 - 04:12 PM