The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem with Links working in Chrome and Firefox
Rockgar
post Jan 8 2011, 12:52 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 11
Member No.: 13,559



IE opens the link in this table just fine but chrome and firefox display everything correctly but the links are simply not clickable. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

<div id="e60" style="position:absolute;left:470;top:355;width:153;height:22;">
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="153">
<tr>
<td nowrap height="22" align="center"><span class="text"><a href="http://www.google.com" target="_blank"><font size="3"><span style="font-size:16px;line-height:19px;">Click here for Google<br soft></span></font></a></span></td>
</tr>
</table>


I have been wanting to fix this for like over a year lol.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 8 2011, 01:01 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Probably the links are overlaid by a positioned box. IE usually allowa clicks through transparent parts of such a box, the others don't. But I really can't tell from the snip you posted, so this is just a guess.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jan 8 2011, 01:04 PM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Can you provide the URL (address) of a document that demonstrates the problem?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Rockgar
post Jan 8 2011, 01:16 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 11
Member No.: 13,559



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jan 8 2011, 01:04 PM) *

Can you provide the URL (address) of a document that demonstrates the problem?



Pandy, you are correct. There is a positioned box around the links but Is there a way to keep the box as it provides a desirable design element and add the required link functionality in chrome and firefox?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 8 2011, 01:44 PM
Post #5


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,653
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



You can bring the positioned element in front of other ones with the CSS z-index property.

BTW you should use units in CSS, like "22px".
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 8 2011, 02:01 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE
Pandy, you are correct. There is a positioned box around the links but Is there a way to keep the box as it provides a desirable design element and add the required link functionality in chrome and firefox?


Which also makes the links part of the positioned box. Positioned boxes are automatically on top of non positioned boxes. That is not the problem. I suspect that something else is positioned and covers this box. We can't tell from a snip without context. Can you post the URL to the page in question?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Rockgar
post Jan 8 2011, 02:47 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 11
Member No.: 13,559



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 8 2011, 02:01 PM) *

QUOTE
Pandy, you are correct. There is a positioned box around the links but Is there a way to keep the box as it provides a desirable design element and add the required link functionality in chrome and firefox?


Which also makes the links part of the positioned box. Positioned boxes are automatically on top of non positioned boxes. That is not the problem. I suspect that something else is positioned and covers this box. We can't tell from a snip without context. Can you post the URL to the page in question?


Here is a URL with the complelete code. You will see the two text links in the box work fine in IE but not at all in Chrome or Firefox.

http://www.20besthosts.com/test.html

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jan 8 2011, 07:48 PM
Post #8


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Examining the elements in Chrome, it seems that div#e122 is positioned on top of the links. When I disable the height attribute for this element, it no longer covers the links.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Rockgar
post Jan 10 2011, 06:00 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 11
Member No.: 13,559



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jan 8 2011, 07:48 PM) *

Examining the elements in Chrome, it seems that div#e122 is positioned on top of the links. When I disable the height attribute for this element, it no longer covers the links.



Darin that was the problem. Thanks a ton! I had been wondering for quite a while what was causing the non link issue and with more people now more then ever using the other 2 major web browsers it was something I really wanted to fix.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 09:06 PM