The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Youtube link in my web site
Gorg27
post Nov 22 2011, 11:26 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-November 11
Member No.: 15,928



Hi,

I hope someone can help me.

I am not sure if this is the right section to post this message.

I have been trying to make a link in my web site for a youtube video. I have a program that automatically makes my web pages and I was trying to write the following code on the web page template.

The first part is constant on each page of the template http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

the second part {property field="Custom6"} is the youtube code that is retrieved from my database.

I am trying to join the 2 parts together


<td class="property_factlabel" width="35%" valign="top">YouTube Video:</td>
<td valign="top"><a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={property field="Custom6"}</a></td>
</tr>

I have been trying for hours, but I am afraid I have not been very successful.


Can anybody help please.

Kind regards
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sue-Ellen
post Nov 22 2011, 11:38 AM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 2-September 06
Member No.: 53



Not without knowing how your progam works...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Nov 23 2011, 02:40 AM
Post #3


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



And there are things wrong with the link anyway.
It lacks a ">"
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={property field="Custom6"}></a>

Then, double quotes are used for both the HREF and the value of property field. That probably should be
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={property field='Custom6'}></a>
(mark the single quotes inside double quotes).

And, the link is empty, there's nothing to click on, eg.
<a href="...">My video</a>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Nov 23 2011, 10:24 AM
Post #4


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,598
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Also this is not a proper double quote:

CODE
”></a>


Use this instead:

CODE
"></a>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Nov 23 2011, 10:47 AM
Post #5


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Yep, I hadn't seen that one, it's easily overlooked.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2017 - 05:36 AM