The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Trying to center my Google ads...
Renfield
post Jul 1 2008, 03:46 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 29-March 08
Member No.: 5,314



Hello,

I need help centering my Google ads here: http://www.necroticobsession.com

Here's the code as I have it so far. I put a line of stars to denote when the Google ad tables start. Obviously that line is not actually in the code, but I thought it best to include some context so I included teh code right before the ads. Any help, please? biggrin.gif

CODE
<br clear="all" />

<table width="100%" cellspacing="1">
<tr>
    <td width="40%" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap" align="{S_CONTENT_FLOW_BEGIN}"><!-- IF S_TOPIC_MOD --><form method="post" action="{S_MOD_ACTION}"><span class="gensmall">{L_QUICK_MOD}:</span> {S_TOPIC_MOD} <input class="btnlite" type="submit" value="{L_GO}" /></form><!-- ENDIF --></td>
    <td align="{S_CONTENT_FLOW_END}" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap"><span class="gensmall"><!-- BEGIN rules -->{rules.RULE}<br /><!-- END rules --></span></td>
</tr>
</table>

<br clear="all" />

<table width="100%" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
    <td><!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCHBOX --><!-- INCLUDE searchbox.html --><!-- ENDIF --></td>
    <td align="{S_CONTENT_FLOW_END}"><!-- INCLUDE jumpbox.html --></td>
</tr>
</table>


***********Google ads below**********


<table>
<tr>
    <td width="728" align="center">
    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6542213538697851";
/* 728x90, created 7/1/08 */
google_ad_slot = "6451598783";
google_ad_width = 728;
google_ad_height = 90;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script></td>
</tr>
</table>

<table>
<tr>
    <td width="728" align="center">
    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6542213538697851";
/* 728x90, created 7/1/08 */
google_ad_slot = "6451598783";
google_ad_width = 728;
google_ad_height = 90;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script></td>
</tr>
</table>


<!-- INCLUDE overall_footer.html -->
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 1 2008, 05:05 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Turn the table borders on so you can see what's going on. You've centred the content inside the TDs, when you should have centered the tables on the page.

Get rid of the tables and put both scripts in a DIV instead. Less code.
HTML
<div style="text-align: center">
...
</div>

A DIV automatically spans the whole page while a table shrinkwraps. That's why the DIV doesn't need to be centered.

You'd better put a BR or something between the too scripts so you don't end up with the iframes alongside each other on a screen with big enough resolution. smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Renfield
post Jul 1 2008, 05:38 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 29-March 08
Member No.: 5,314



Hmmm...

I rewrote it the way you said and it still didn't seem to work. Here it is rewritten. Maybe you can see something that I'm missing?

CODE
<div style="text-align: center">
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6542213538697851";
/* 728x90, created 7/1/08 */
google_ad_slot = "6451598783";
google_ad_width = 728;
google_ad_height = 90;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</div>

<div style="text-align: center">
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6542213538697851";
/* 728x90, created 7/1/08 */
google_ad_slot = "6451598783";
google_ad_width = 728;
google_ad_height = 90;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</div>

<!-- INCLUDE overall_footer.html -->
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 1 2008, 05:55 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Should work.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Renfield
post Jul 1 2008, 06:17 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 29-March 08
Member No.: 5,314



Yeah, sorry. The board I use caches files on the server and they need to be refreshed before they show up right. It works. Thanks for your help.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:52 AM