The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Navbar and Graphics gap
Plane_Crazy_4_YHWH
post Nov 21 2008, 09:29 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 13-October 08
From: My computer desk...
Member No.: 6,886



Hey all.

It's Mr. Newbie again... lol

I noticed that there is a gap between the navbar and my header graphics when using FF. IE6 and 7 display fine. Any suggestions as to how to get rid of that space? Please view in both FF and IE. Thanks!

http://teens4torah.tofy.net/

Thanks again.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 22 2008, 02:47 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I recommend that you start by fixing the markup errors reported by our online validator.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Galen
post Nov 29 2008, 05:13 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 29-November 08
Member No.: 7,218



I agree that you should fix the errors first, they are easy fixes...

.... as for your problem, don't know if you know CSS very well...
but you could put both your header image into a set of <div> tags and then your navbar images all together in another set of <div> tags, then with CSS set their specific sizes and make both of their 'margin' 'border' and 'padding' values to zero.

(then again, I'm a noobie too, so not sure if there is an easier way)

just a side note, I dont think you have to add the <b></b> tags inside your headlines.. im pretty sure that headlines are automatically bold

This post has been edited by Galen: Nov 29 2008, 05:15 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 29 2008, 01:50 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



You have padding inside your table cells. Adding
CODE
td {padding:0}
removes the gap.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Plane_Crazy_4_YHWH
post Dec 1 2008, 03:02 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 13-October 08
From: My computer desk...
Member No.: 6,886



Hey,

I haven't been on in a while. Thanks for your reply. Darin, you said "You have padding inside your table cells. Adding td {padding:0} removes the gap."

I assume you mean in a css file right? I may have done something wrong, but it doesn't seem to be working.

Also, I don't understand the validator... it tells me things like

"Line 49, character 11:
<p>Living in this world today is very dangerous. War ...
^Error: element P not allowed here; possible cause is an inline element containing a block-level element"

What does that mean? Why can't I use the paragraph element there?

Thanks for the help. It is appreciated!

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 1 2008, 03:59 PM
Post #6


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I just used my browser to add
CODE
td {padding:0}
to the CSS used to display the page. Your style sheet looks fine to me, and I don't see the gap any more, but I'm using a different browser.

Regarding the validation error, like the message says, you have "an inline element containing a block-level element".

Inline elements like strong cannot contain block-level elements like p. If you follow the links on the validator results page, you'll find information about what elements can contain what other elements, which elements are inline elements, which elements are block-level elements, etc.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Plane_Crazy_4_YHWH
post Dec 2 2008, 03:11 PM
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 13-October 08
From: My computer desk...
Member No.: 6,886



Which browser are you using, Darin?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 2 2008, 03:31 PM
Post #8


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Right now, I'm using Firefox on Linux. Earlier, I was using Firefox on Mac. In theory, they're pretty much the same (except for UI details dictated by the OS, like using Ctrl-V or Command-V for the Paste function). In practice, there are probably minor rendering differences.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Plane_Crazy_4_YHWH
post Dec 2 2008, 04:29 PM
Post #9


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 13-October 08
From: My computer desk...
Member No.: 6,886



Wow! Thanks. Those errors were part of that gap. I will continue to try to fix them, although there are still a few I do not understand. Thanks though!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 2 2008, 05:34 PM
Post #10


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Here's an explanation of the remaining errors.

CODE
Warning: net-enabling start-tag; possibly missing required quotes around an attribute value
Error: end tag for element HEAD which is not open; try removing the end tag or check for improper nesting of elements
Error: element BODY not allowed here; check which elements this element may be contained within
Don't mix XHTML syntax into HTML documents. That is, use <link ...> rather than <link ... />, and <br> rather than <br />. Also, you need to quote attribute values that contain slash characters. See the FAQ entry Should I put quotes around attribute values?

CODE
Error: there is no attribute BACKGROUND for this element (in this HTML version)
This is non-standard presentational markup. Use CSS instead.

CODE
Error: required attribute ALT not specified
ALT attributes are required. See also Use of ALT texts in IMGs.

CODE
Error: there is no attribute COLSPAN for this element (in this HTML version)
While the TD element has a COLSPAN attribute, the TABLE element does not. Just delete this, since it can't do anything useful.

CODE
Error: there is no attribute SRC for this element (in this HTML version)
Error: there is no attribute TYPE for this element (in this HTML version)
Error: there is no attribute WMODE for this element (in this HTML version)
Error: there is no attribute WIDTH for this element (in this HTML version)
Error: there is no attribute HEIGHT for this element (in this HTML version)
Error: element EMBED not defined in this HTML version
For information about using Flash without non-standard markup, see ALA's Flash Satay: Embedding Flash While Supporting Standards

CODE
Error: TR not finished but containing element ended
You've got a <tr> tag where you should have a </tr> tag. This opens a new TR element, which is required to have one or more TD or TH elements, which is why you get the error message you get.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Plane_Crazy_4_YHWH
post Dec 3 2008, 02:17 PM
Post #11


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 13-October 08
From: My computer desk...
Member No.: 6,886



Hey Darin. Thanks for the help. It all makes sence now.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Plane_Crazy_4_YHWH
post Dec 3 2008, 02:44 PM
Post #12


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 13-October 08
From: My computer desk...
Member No.: 6,886



Well, most of it anyways. I'll keep working on it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2024 - 05:30 PM